Wire disconnected while replacing device


  #1  
Old 02-26-15, 01:08 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wire disconnected while replacing device

While replacing the flip switch to our porch light the bottom black wire was disconnected from the back portion. Unsure of how to connect it again. Sure it's a simple answer just want to be careful. Thanks for all your help in advance!

Name:  IMG_6724.jpg
Views: 295
Size:  33.2 KB

Name:  IMG_6723.jpg
Views: 260
Size:  30.2 KB
 

Last edited by Jbradley2128; 02-26-15 at 01:20 PM. Reason: Adding photos
  #2  
Old 02-26-15, 01:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,985
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You were replacing a switch that should have had two wires connected to it.

How many wires were there on that switch and is it a one location (not 3w) switch ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-26-15, 01:53 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,511
Received 21 Upvotes on 18 Posts
Is that a timer in the box with the switch?
I'm on my phone, so a little tough to follow the wires.
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-15, 02:59 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJ,

There were two wires on the switch and it was a one location switch. (Not a third wire) Both the wires were connected to the switch but the bottom wire became disconnected to where it was connected inside.

Apologize for any terminology I use incorrectly.
 
  #5  
Old 02-26-15, 02:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,985
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
Ahhhh... pictures.

Can you carefully pull the wires out of the box without disconnecting anything so that we can see the connections and post another picture.

I see 2) two conductor cables in that box. Are there any more ?
 
  #6  
Old 02-26-15, 03:11 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
More Photos

Let me know if this gives enough detail. I believe there are only 2.

Name:  IMG_6727.jpg
Views: 256
Size:  34.7 KB

Name:  IMG_6726.jpg
Views: 231
Size:  34.4 KB

Name:  IMG_6725.jpg
Views: 180
Size:  40.0 KB
 
Attached Images   
  #7  
Old 02-26-15, 03:20 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,511
Received 21 Upvotes on 18 Posts
That third 14/2 and what looks like a timer/dimmer is going to make this interesting.
The wire in question is definitely from one of the maretts, but which one.

What is that dial control?
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-15, 03:25 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,511
Received 21 Upvotes on 18 Posts
Looking at the pictures, the dial controls the hot from the 14/2 on the left to the one on the right.
The switch is connected to the hot on the center cable, but I can't figure out where it should go.
 
  #9  
Old 02-26-15, 03:51 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Success!

Figured it out. When I inspected the yellow wire but closer it basically popped without any resistance (I now remember the yellow marette being close to the switch when I was pulling out) so I clamped the three together and everything works great. Thanks for your help everyone! Will definitely be back and hope to help some others out in the future.
 
  #10  
Old 02-26-15, 04:02 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You know where the wires go now, great job!

You can see the wire nut was unsecure. After you tighten the nut around wires, you should tug on each individual wire to ensure they are secure.

A wire should never be able to be pulled out from a wire nut.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: