Adding an additional light to a 3-way swtch

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-15, 02:38 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 162
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding an additional light to a 3-way swtch

I'm going to do my best to describe this without pictures because I'm hoping they won't be necessary.

I've got some stairs going down to the basement. Currently, there are two wall-mounted stair lights on the same 3-way switch. One switch is at the top of the stairs, and the other is at the bottom, obviously.

The problem is that these stair lights are pretty worthless in terms of illumination. I have a landing half-way down the stairs, but the builder never thought to put a recessed can light or wall sconce there. So, I want to add a wall sconce at the landing, and wire it into the same 3-way switch as the two stair lights.

One of the two stair lights is easily accessible via my basement utility room. So, rather than run my wall sconce wiring direct to one of the switches, I thought the easiest thing would be to run it straight down into the utility room and tie it in off the stair light. Can I do this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-15, 03:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I thought the easiest thing would be to run it straight down into the utility room and tie it in off the stair light. Can I do this?
Yes. In fact with a 3-way it is the easiest way. Coming from a switch can be tricky.
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-15, 03:44 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Basically you don't add lighting from switches, but add lighting from lighting. As Ray says, it is very tricky to do with switches only.
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-15, 05:07 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 162
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great thanks. Now I just need to get up there and figure out how to daisy chain in the wire to the stair light. I think I might need to disassemble it.

Do I need 14/2 or 14/3 wire to connect the light?
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-15, 05:53 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
You'll just need 14-2, since all you will be doing is connecting the black to black, white to white, and ground to ground, from light to light.
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-15, 06:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,043
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
Yes... you will need to remove the light to make splices in that box.
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-15, 06:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
14-3 assumes a 15 amp breaker.
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-15, 07:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 162
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great. 14/2 it is. My preference would be a recessed can light, but using a wall sconce is a lot easier because I don't have to cut any extra holes in the drywall to fish the wire up and over the corner where the wall meets the ceiling. Just the hole for the sconce itself should be sufficient for a straight shot down the wall into the basement utility room where I can splice into the stair light.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: