Question about new Can Lighting?


  #1  
Old 04-19-15, 04:09 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question about new Can Lighting?

A few years ago a friend got sick so he wanted me to finish a new can lighting project he started in one of his apartments, (he owns a 12 unit complex). He gutted the old drop ceiling, lighting and wiring in the kitchen so I had to figure out what was what and without the electricity turned on. I followed what I thought were the right wires and added new wires for the new can lighting. The place is completely remodeled now so cutting holes in drywall to find hot wires (since the electricity is turned on now) is not an option. What it the best way to troubleshoot this situation? Is there a way to find the old wires that need to be connected to the new cans without cutting holes? This entire situation could have been avoided if the electricity was on in the first place then I would have been able to find the right wires.

 
  #2  
Old 04-19-15, 04:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Did you have power coming in at the first can or the switch?
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-15, 04:45 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How did you even attempt that? I guess that you didn't use some kind of continuity tester?
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-15, 05:45 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 10 Upvotes on 9 Posts
If the cans are installed and not wired, you may not be able to do anything without sheetrock work.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: