Switch to control ceiling fan light and speed.

Old 04-19-15, 05:06 PM
Switch to control ceiling fan light and speed.

I have a switch in our master bedroom that turns on our hunter ceiling fan. It is a single switch on the wall, so it does not give us control to turn on the ceiling fan light, or the fan itself. If we switch it to ON/OFF it affects both the light and the fan at the same time.

So we have the following setup currently. Wires 2 and 3 were connected together, were wire #3 comes is HOT, coming from the wall. Wire #1 also comes from the wall and attaches directly to the switch, while the red wire is going into the wall and i can't trace it beyond that.

Name:  wires2.jpg
Views: 936
Size:  43.4 KB

So I purchased a Lutron fan control DVWFSQ-FH from lowes, Lutron Diva 1.5-Amp Single-Pole/3-Way 3-Speed Fan Control - White-DVWFSQ-FH-WH - The Home Depot which I hope would allow me to turn on the fan and the light separately.

Name:  IMG_20150419_185103.jpg
Views: 501
Size:  24.6 KB

It has 2 red wires and one black.
At this point i am not sure whether this new switch will allow me to control the light and the fan speed separately. And if it does, what the proper combination of wires would be. Just to be safe, my goal is to replace the current switch on the wall, for a single switch that allows me turn on the light and the fan separately.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-19-15, 05:37 PM
Group Moderator
Hot should go to switch black. Do you know if the black of the 3-conductor cable goes to fan black? If so then the fan red marked fan goes to it and the other red to the red of the 3-conductor cable.

Last edited by ray2047; 04-19-15 at 05:53 PM.
Old 04-19-15, 09:32 PM
Ray, I have a basic question. The red wire attached to the original switch seems to run into the walk, leading to the fan. Would I need to cutoff that red wire to release the switch and use a piggy tail to the new one?

Old 04-19-15, 09:56 PM
Group Moderator