Wiring connections for new bath light


  #1  
Old 04-28-15, 07:16 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Wiring connections for new bath light

Hi I have an older home (1950s). Am trying to install new bath vanity light(replacing old vanity bar w/4 small bulbs). There is a light switch controlling light . I did not take pic or make diagram of previous connections.I did install an old work electrical box as the other wires were just coming out of hole in wall. Currently, this is what I have: two cables (each has B copper wire and W copper wire.) Also there is a single W wire separate from the others. I'm wondering if that is a ground wire? I have connected all B wires (2 from wall and 1 from new fixture) and did same with the 2 W that were in cable and 1 from new fixture . I attached the fixture ground to single W wire. I can get all 3 bulbs in new fixture to come on, but are not controlled by light switch, and it trips the breaker each time. Thoughts, or do I need to call an electrician. I have been able to determine the one of B wires is hot and other is not. Is the cold B part of switch?
 
  #2  
Old 04-28-15, 07:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Sounds like a switch loop. Open the switch. If it has only a black and white wire and they are connected to the switch. It is a switch loop.
there is a single W wire separate from the others
Any time you have a wire that doesn't seem to make sense don't guess. Just cap it with a wire nut. A 1950's era wiring usually will not have a ground. If the white is intended as ground it is the wrong color and some kind of unknown bootleg I would not trust.
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-15, 07:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

White should not be used as a ground wire. You have a switch loop there.

Name:  switchloop.jpg
Views: 560
Size:  13.3 KB

You'll see my diagram uses 2) two wire cables. One is the feed in and the other goes to the switch. You will need to determine which cable is the feed in cable and then follow the diagram.


(lightning fast fingers Ray there)
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-15, 05:42 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Red face Thanks you for the info and diagram!

Thank you very much- I did connections as per the descriptions and diagram and it worked! No circuit breakers tripping and the looks great- couldn't have figured it out without your help
 
  #5  
Old 05-03-15, 06:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: