Replacing push button switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-07-15, 07:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing push button switch

I'm replacing a push button dome light switch on my boat. It has two black wires.
The mfg set me a replacement switch that has a red, white, and black wire. What connects to what?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-07-15, 07:45 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Sounds like the wrong switch but may work. Do you have a multimeter to test which wire give the desired result?
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-15, 07:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I do have a multi meter - the kind that Harbor Freight gives away - but have never used it.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-15, 09:16 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this a momentary contact switch or one that stays in the on or off position?
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-15, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Push it once the light comes on push it again and the light goes off
 
  #6  
Old 05-07-15, 12:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,919
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
I would try connecting the black and red to the two blacks and cap the white. Did the switch come with a wiring diagram on the package?
 
  #7  
Old 05-07-15, 12:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
PCBoss' suggestion is how I would do it. I just tend to be over analytical with my advice sometimes.
 
  #8  
Old 05-07-15, 03:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No diagram on package but here's more info:

The Digi-Key part# 527PB-ND
Product Sheet Here:
http://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%20...40-4169-00.pdf
 
  #9  
Old 05-07-15, 04:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,699
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
The white wire on that switch is common. So use the white and black wires and cap the red one.
 
  #10  
Old 05-08-15, 06:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Got it all wired and working
Thanks very much.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: