Low Voltage Lighting Solution

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-07-15, 05:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Low Voltage Lighting Solution

I have an outdoor low voltage lighting system with LED bollards and flood lights and I would like to add some low voltage LED string lights to wrap around a couple palm trees. I've had a hard time finding low voltage LED string lights, but I purchased a set and I'm trying to see if I can get them to work.

The set comes with a small plug-in transformer and there is a 3-pin connector that ties into the string of lights. The transformer has two outputs, both at 30V 0.15A.

My question is: can I just splice the wire directly into my existing low voltage system (400W transformer at 12 to 14V)?

There are 3 pins on the connector - I assume one is ground and the other two are for the 2 outputs???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-07-15, 08:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,121
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
For the most part.... outdoor low voltage lighting runs on 12v AC.
For the most part.... LED strips run on 12v DC.

So connecting your 30v, possibly DC LED's to 12vac could be a problem.
Can you give us more info or a link to your LED's ?

(They use a three pin connector for running two circuits- one common and two hots)
 
  #3  
Old 05-08-15, 07:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete,

Here is the link to the description of the lights:

100 LED Low Voltage Plug-in String Lights - Cool White - 31 Ft. - BLINQ

I've had little success finding string lights that I can tie directly into my low voltage system, so I figured I would give these a try.
 
  #4  
Old 05-08-15, 08:08 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The transformer has two outputs, both at 30V 0.15A.
Nothing I saw in the link indicates 30 volts. In fact since it runs on a battery pack as an alternate power source 30 volts is very unlikely.
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-15, 09:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are the specs on the transformer:

Input: 120V - 60 Hz - 0.18A
Output 1: 30V (with the DC symbol next to it) - 0.15A - Max 4.5W
Output 2: 30V (with the DC symbol next to it) - 0.15A - Max 4.5W
This product has two outputs
Lamp: 2L, 30V, 0-9W, Tc = 75C

Here is a picture of the transformer - this isn't the exact model that I'm using, but it's the same design.
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-15, 01:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there any other information that would be helpful to answer this?
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-15, 01:38 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,965
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
You can not connect these to the existing transformer. It only puts out 12v volts DC. The new lights need 30 volts DC.

If you want to use these string lights your best option is to run a 120 volt line to your trees and install a receptacle to plug in the new transformer. If you GFCI protect the 120 volt line, and keep it 20 amps or less, you only have to bury it 12".
 
  #8  
Old 05-11-15, 02:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,121
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
I've been researching this for you. It appears that the new transformers they are supplying fits the 10W IP44 protocall which is 10w at 12v. In the link below.... if you click on more information it shows customer reviews. Several questions were asked about voltage. It looks like these strings will work on 12vac. I'd recommend trying a string first.

Lights.com | String Lights | Accessories | Plug-in Transformer

The solar kit runs on 3.75v and the battery pack system runs on 3 D batteries.
 
  #9  
Old 05-11-15, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pete. I have one strand that I'm going to use to test this out. It was only $12, so it won't be too painful if it doesn't work.

How do I determine which of the 3 wires I should use to tie into the 12G low voltage line?
 
  #10  
Old 05-11-15, 07:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,121
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
It's going to be experimental. There isn't a diagram that I could find.
 
  #11  
Old 05-11-15, 10:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried all of the different combinations and none of them got the lights going.

I connected the lights and then measured the voltage at the 12G low voltage line (10.7V AC) and got the same measurement at the end of the light string (measured through the connector at the end of the line). I checked the output of the transformer and confirmed that it was 30V DC.

I also checked the string directly at the transformer (12.5V) and I still couldn't get it to work.
 
  #12  
Old 05-11-15, 11:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,121
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
So now when you connect them to the supplied transformer they still don't work ?
Did you observe the same wiring colors as DC has a polarity ?
Did the LED's even flash briefly when connected to the AC transformer ?

I need a set here to play with.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: