Looking for 3-way wireless switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-19-15, 06:12 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looking for 3-way wireless switch

I don't want to open any ceilings to add wire for a 3-way switch. I see a few 3-way wireless setups on the market but I don't want batteries. I know I have to replace the powered switch so the second can communicate with it. Is there any brands out there can be powered by an existing run on both ends(two different runs)? I already have a double box with power from another run in the wall where I want the second switch.

Any brands? model numbers? I don't need a remote control or phone app ones either. Both would be on 14guage.

Thx

Todd
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-19-15, 07:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,380
Received 745 Votes on 700 Posts
Pretty tall order. The norm is for the remote switch to be battery operated for the ultimate in easy installations.

I was looking for a Z wave kit but didn't find anything yet. I did however run across the system in the link below. Comes with two AC powered switches that can be programmed to control the same light. Requires neutral as it needs 120vac to run.

Simply-Automated-V3WAY-A-Anywhere-Switch
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-15, 08:56 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
okay so if I have to go with one with battery what models am I looking at? Best price?
 
  #4  
Old 06-11-15, 10:13 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Didn't get a reply to my last question. Can someone point me to a model number?

Thx fort your help!
 
  #5  
Old 06-11-15, 02:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Sometimes on esoteric questions no one may have the answer.
 
  #6  
Old 06-11-15, 03:18 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not 100% understanding everything you're asking.
But if you're looking to simply add a second switch to control a light...

http://www.lutron.com/en-US/Products...x#SectionHead6

You have one receiver switch that replaces your current switch, then you can add more wireless switches wherever you need to. You just need a little bracket for it and you can mount the second switch on a switch box, or literally velcro the switch to a wall and put a plate on it for appearance sake.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: