220V LED light's?? "oops"

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-24-15, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
220V LED light's?? "oops"

I found some cool little LED lights on Ebay, but I did not notice that they are powered by 220V. I am not sure how to wire them or if I can even use them.

Can I use a Power Converter Adapter AC 110V to 220V step up & down volt transformer to power these lights?

My second question is about the transformer that comes with the lights. It has 2 red wires that supply 220V input to the transformer and 1 black and 1 red wire that supply 250mA/DC2.5V-12V to the LED light. Can I use a 110V to 12V transformer to power these lights? Are the 2 red input wires both hot wires?

My third question is what size wire should I use? I used 12/2 with ground...will that work or should I get some smaller/different wire?

Here are the light's features:


Modle: 3W ceiling downlight
Input Voltage: AC 220V
LED Type: SMD5730
Power: 3W
Colour: Warm White(2800- 3000K); Pure White (5500-6000K)
Dimmable: Yes
Size: 8.7cm x 8.7cm x 2.2cm - 3.42inch x 3.42inch x 0.86inch
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-15, 08:36 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
The eBay link would be helpful but it sounds like all you need to do is to get a 120vac--->12v? supply.

250mA/DC2.5V-12V
Is that a direct quote ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-24-15, 05:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,502
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
The two red wires to connect to the 220 volt source can be connected to either a hot-neutral line (non-USA) or to two hots (US, Canada, others). Although equipment should accept +-10% voltage tolerance, there is a chance that 240 volts in the US may burn out the 220 volt lights.

The power supply has other components, namely diodes, in addition to the transformer to rectify the 12 volt transformer raw alternating current output to 12 volts direct current.
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-15, 05:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,502
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
If you substitute a power supply of your choosing, namely 120 volts input to 12 volts output, you have to get DC output to match what the lights need.
 
  #5  
Old 05-24-15, 05:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,502
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Actually, try the light with the original power supply first as-is on 120 volts.

The lights say they accept 2-1/2 volts to 12 volts. If the existing power supply delivers at least 5 volts with 220 volts input then it will deliver at least 2-1/2 volts with 120 volts input and the lights will still work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: