Replacing light fixture with ceiling fan - need help with wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-24-15, 08:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing light fixture with ceiling fan - need help with wiring

I'm replacing a ceiling light with a ceiling fan and need help connecting wires.

In the ceiling, the box has 3 parts:

part one - 1 black 1 white 1 red
part two - 1 black 1 white
part three - 1 black

The fan has a remote, so I'm wondering if I should ignore the red (wall switch) line and cap off? Also, there is no ground - will I run into issues because of that? I've already tried a connection once which did not work and would like to get it right the second time around. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-24-15, 10:32 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,911
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
How was the original fixture connected? How many wall walls are there that control the ceiling wires? Is the box rated for a ceiling fan?

It is strange that you have an extra black. Pictures might help us understand.
 
  #3  
Old 06-24-15, 11:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately I did not take a picture, or remember how the orginal fixture was connected - big mistake on my part. One wall that controls the ceiling wires. The box is mounted to a brace between beams.

After doing some reading the extra black wire is what's throwing me off.
When I thought I had installed it the first time and turned the breaker back on some outlets started working again, others (beyond the ceiling box) did not - including lights in kitchen, hall, living room etc.) Maybe that could explain the extra black?

Here are some pictures: ceiling, switch and it may not matter but the old light which had a white pigtail.

Sorry, I'm obviously new to electrical. Name:  IMG_3354.jpg
Views: 399
Size:  23.9 KBName:  IMG_3356.jpg
Views: 205
Size:  28.3 KBName:  IMG_3357.jpg
Views: 253
Size:  44.7 KB
 
  #4  
Old 06-24-15, 12:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,911
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Is it possible the white broke off from the cable containing the lone black?

Do you have access to a multimeter to test for power?
 
  #5  
Old 06-24-15, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is very possible. I was going to get a multimeter today but I'm having an electrician come tomorrow morning. I need a couple of other things looked at anyways.
 
  #6  
Old 06-24-15, 01:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,892
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No ground conductors???
 
  #7  
Old 06-24-15, 02:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you get a multimeter get analog not digital. An $-$15 meter is all you need.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: