Whole House Fan Timer


  #1  
Old 06-26-15, 07:46 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Whole House Fan Timer

I just replaced the motor on my belt drive whole house fan with a 5KCP39HGAA06B5 Its 120 Volt, 2 speed. The previous motor was also two speed with a rotary switch controlling it. The low speed never seemed any lower than the high speed, although the sound it made changed a bit. All that said, this one also seems to not make a difference when turned to low speed either.
All that being said, here is my question. I am considering replacing the rotary switch with a timer similar to one I saw on a recent post here. The rotary switch uses the red wire to control the low (non existant) speed. As the times will not have that option and i do no want to add the switch inline before the rotary switch, can I just remove the rotary and cap off the red wire as I don't need the low speed?
 
  #2  
Old 06-26-15, 08:42 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 3,927
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
In a word, yes. .
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-15, 10:00 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Awesome. I was thinking that would be the case. Thank You!! Bill
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: