Vanity Light, wiring electrical cables???


  #1  
Old 07-18-15, 02:46 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Vanity Light, wiring electrical cables???

I want to install a vanity light. How can I need help on how to rout the cable inside the walls around a corner without making too many holes. I have tiles on my walls. I would like to connect it to a light switch. Here is how many vanity looks with the light switch, I need to get electrical cable from switch to the top of vanity. Name:  Bathroom Vanity.jpg
Views: 580
Size:  24.3 KB
 
  #2  
Old 07-18-15, 02:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Do you have an unfinished attic above or basement below?
 
  #3  
Old 07-18-15, 03:59 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's finished, tiles on the floor.
 
  #4  
Old 07-18-15, 04:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,017
Received 4,155 Upvotes on 3,731 Posts
If your vanity is on the first floor..... is there an unfinished basement below it ?
If your vanity is on the second floor..... is there an attic above ?

You cannot run a wire around the corner. You could go up and over or down and over.
Where on the wall (over mirror ?) and what type of vanity light will you be using ?

You've got tiles walls. This will not be an easy job. You'll need to cut a hole in the tile for an electrical box.
 
  #5  
Old 07-18-15, 06:50 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was thinking of cutting on the ceiling and connecting an electrical cable either to the light switch or light fixture and run it to the vanity light. What do you think?

What can I use to cut through porcelain tile to install the junction box for the vanity light?
 
  #6  
Old 07-18-15, 06:58 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Do you have an attic space above or a basement below????? Asked, but not answered. Cutting holes without knowing what to do is not the way to go. A coring bit or several holes with small concrete/tile bits would work for the hole to mount your box.
 
  #7  
Old 07-18-15, 07:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
For the third time: Do you have an unfinished attic above or an unfinished basement or crawl space below. We can't help till you answer that question.
 
  #8  
Old 07-18-15, 11:40 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
First I live in an apartment building on the first floor. There is an apartment above mines. There isn't an attic. No basement either.
 
  #9  
Old 07-19-15, 04:43 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,501
Received 917 Upvotes on 775 Posts
Since you are living in an apartment you are not allowed to do electrical work. This would need to be done by a licensed contractor. Only a homeowner can do electrical work in their own home.

With no basement, and no attic, the only way to do what you want is to open the walls, or install a surface raceway system.

The only other possibility is if you put a light on the ceiling in the same joist space as the existing light. There are a bunch of other variables on how the building is constructed so this might not be a option either.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 07-19-15 at 05:06 AM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: