Bypass Ceiling Fan Pull Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-19-15, 11:02 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Bypass Ceiling Fan Pull Switch

I have an old "KDK Tennessee Fan Co" ceiling fan that I can't find a replacement pull switch for. Does anything know how to wire the motor to just bypass the pull switch and have the fan stay on HIGH?
Or where to find the correct switch?

Attached are some pics of what I'm working with.
Name:  20150716_190558.jpg
Views: 6340
Size:  27.5 KBName:  20150719_134317.jpg
Views: 5527
Size:  30.9 KBName:  20150719_135206~01.jpg
Views: 5387
Size:  51.0 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-19-15, 11:28 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Most any generic fan control switch will work. Remember if you try to bypass it, you will only have one speed, and that will be WAO. If you are still interested in bypassing the switch let us know. We have to advise the alternative when it will affect the outcome.
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-15, 11:52 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are 5 terminals on the old switch, of which 4 are utilized. I can't find a 5 or 4 terminal switch. All I can find are the simple 3 wire switches. Apparently those also come in versions for 1 or 2 capacitor fans. This fan looks to have 3?

Also, what does WAO mean?
 
  #4  
Old 07-19-15, 12:10 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,635
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
WAO = Wide A$$ Open?
-----------------------
 
  #5  
Old 07-19-15, 01:35 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
This is a 4 wire, 3 speed fan switch from big orange.Westinghouse Replacement 3-Speed Ceiling Fan Switch-7702100 - The Home Depot
 
  #6  
Old 07-19-15, 02:20 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That one says for single capacitor fans. Doesn't that matter?

In any case, how would I go about wiring the fan to just be on high speed all the time? This thing is in my garage, so I only need one speed.

Is it as simple as just using a wire nut to connect the Black (L) and white(1) wire from the old switch?
 

Last edited by Clint Castells; 07-19-15 at 02:39 PM.
  #7  
Old 07-20-15, 07:14 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So any ideas on making this thing just run on high only?
 
  #8  
Old 07-20-15, 12:23 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Not absolutely sure, but tying the two blacks together and the blue may give you the high speed only. The white wires on the switch are for intermediate speeds. Again, I am not familiar with fans with more than one cap.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: