1 switch to two light fixture, what is wrong?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-20-15, 04:00 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1 switch to two light fixture, what is wrong?

Shouldn't this connection work. I have Black hot wire connected to bottom of the light switch. The top of the light switch is connected to Black wire of the first light fixture, then white wire of the first fixture is connected to Black wire of the second fixture and the white wire of the second fixture is connected to the white wire of the power source. When I turn on the switch neither of the lights turn on.

Name:  FullSizeRender.jpg
Views: 948
Size:  20.6 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-20-15, 04:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,533
Received 1,035 Votes on 959 Posts
You've drawn a series circuit there. Lights must be in parallel.

Name:  2b.jpg
Views: 978
Size:  12.3 KB

I would try to redraw the circuit and do it without putting a white wire on the switch.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-15, 06:15 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
But aren't Christmas lights run on series ? why do they work as they suppose to but not lights fixtures?
 
  #4  
Old 07-20-15, 06:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Light fixtures aren't designed that way. They are designed to work on 120 volts. If the bulbs are equal wattage each will only have 60 volts.

It would be easier to bring power into the switch but if you want to bring it into the last box you need to use 3-conductor cable not 2-conductor from the first light box on. You would still use 2-conductor from breaker to first light.

Name:  BG 3.jpg
Views: 6042
Size:  17.6 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-20-15 at 07:52 PM.
  #5  
Old 07-20-15, 07:04 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,598
Received 201 Votes on 179 Posts
Christmas lights are also a different type of bulb. There is a jumper in each one in case one burns out, the rest keep going.
 
  #6  
Old 07-20-15, 08:37 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is what I currently have installed in my bathroom.

Name:  IMG_1650.jpg
Views: 786
Size:  19.4 KB


I want to add another light connected to the same light switch. Here is a picture of what I will be doing. I will also be using 14/2 cables even though they have a ground wire. My place due to being constructed back in the 1930s doesn't have ground wire. Will this connection now work?


Name:  IMG_1651.jpg
Views: 730
Size:  21.2 KB
 
  #7  
Old 07-20-15, 09:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You seem to be using random wires. Is this conduit not cable? Did you look at the diagram I posted?
 
  #8  
Old 07-20-15, 09:30 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray2047 I did see your diagram. The red wire nut with the white wire where it will go? I will be using the 25 ft. 14/2 NM-B Wire. To do the following work.


Name:  light.jpg
Views: 5626
Size:  17.8 KB
 
  #9  
Old 07-21-15, 12:21 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Your diagram is correct.
The red wire nut with the white wire where it will go?
It is capped off and not used. Assuming it is 3-conductor cable you will have a red, black, and white wire in the switch box. While not used it is required by current code to have a neutral at the switch even if not needed (unless this is conduit).
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: