Everything hot except where bulb screws in.


  #1  
Old 08-23-15, 07:37 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Everything hot except where bulb screws in.

I am putting pendant lighting in and I have hit a bit of a snag.... I ran my Romex and hooked up my new light switch. The line is hot (pic 1) all the way to the light. But, where the light bulb screws in is not hot (pic 2). I also wired in a new w/ box patio light (test), it also had the same issue. What could be the cause? I did have help, someone who is an electrician he suggested I replace the switch. I do not believe the switch is the issue. I am not an electrician and may be wrong....
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 08-23-15, 08:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The non contact tester in your picture can not be used for actual testing. It is to easily fooled by things like induce voltage.
I did have help, someone who is an electrician he suggested I replace the switch. I do not believe the switch is the issue. I am not an
So that makes two guesses (you have power and switch is good) neither based on any facts. Best not to guess. To test the switch remove the two wires on it and connect them with a wire nut. When you turn the breaker back on does the light now work. To test voltage use a multimeter, preferably analog, or a neon test light or a solenoid tester.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-15, 09:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,942
Received 4,146 Upvotes on 3,723 Posts
You more than likely do not have a problem with hot power or the switch. Your non contact tester verified you have 120v thru the wire.

It would appear you've lost neutral which your non contact tester can't check for.
 
  #4  
Old 08-23-15, 02:43 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So, if I have lost neutral, how do I correct that?

Thanks for the replies!

Jmann
 
  #5  
Old 08-23-15, 02:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,942
Received 4,146 Upvotes on 3,723 Posts
You need to check in the box above the fixture to see it it's there.
You will need to use an AC voltmeter or true voltage tester to make the check.
 
  #6  
Old 08-23-15, 03:00 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Got it! Will do!

Thanks,

Jmann
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: