How to install replacement switches


  #1  
Old 10-02-15, 04:37 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to install replacement switches

I have a 3 switch box. One switch has two black wires connected. It works.
The other two have a black and red wire connected. They dont work. There are lots of white wires only connected to each other. Then there is a ground not connected to anything except box. Any idea how to install new switches?
 
  #2  
Old 10-02-15, 04:58 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,949
Received 716 Upvotes on 637 Posts
What does the switches control?. One light or two lights? Is there another location that controls the same light?. You say the other two don't work. Do you have any idea what they are suppose to operate? Have you tried every combination?
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-15, 05:28 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,973
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Replacing the switches will not help if the bulbs are burned out or if there is no power to the switches. What troubleshooting have you done? Do you have a meter?
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-15, 06:02 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,394
Received 63 Upvotes on 55 Posts
Switches

The two switches with black and red connections could be switch loops.
 
  #5  
Old 10-03-15, 10:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
There are lots of white wires only connected to each other.
How many whites?
The other two have a black and red wire connected.
Does it say "on and off" on these switches?

Could you pull the switches out without disconnecting anything and give us pictures of all the connections to the switches and the white wires? http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: