Universal remote ceiling fan/light installation diagram

Old 10-07-15, 06:48 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Universal remote ceiling fan/light installation diagram

I have attached a diagram of the current wiring of our ceiling fan along with the proposed installation of the ceiling fan remote.
I am not an electrician and would like to hear the opinions of those who have more experience in this area before making a mistake.
Wiring is not an issue for me, but the safety of my family is.
Thank you for taking the time to view and comment on our post.

CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW LARGER DIAGRAM

Last edited by PJmax; 10-07-15 at 09:28 AM. Reason: repaired pic link
Sponsored Links
Old 10-07-15, 08:21 AM
Group Moderator
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You have a switch loop. There is no neutral at the switch. If the remote requires a neutral it won't work. Both diagrams are incorrect (actually seem to be the same). They show an incorrectly wired switch loop at the fan.

This is how your fan should be wired before the remote if power comes in at the fan. (Grounds are not shown because they are not needed to understand the circuit.)

Name:  Ceiling Fan wiring Diagram.jpg
Views: 2355
Size:  21.0 KB

As you can see there is no neutral at the switch, just a white wire that should have been recolored black or red or any color but white green or gray.

You say it is universal so do you have a receiver at the fan? That is not shown in your diagram. What is the make and model number of the remote?

Last edited by ray2047; 10-07-15 at 08:44 AM.
Old 10-07-15, 10:01 AM
Group Moderator
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
That remote sends its commands thru the power wiring to a remote that you need to install at the fan. It doesn't require a neutral. You do need to switch the black (hot) wire.... not neutral.

Old 10-07-15, 10:18 AM
Ray,