Led driver outdoors 12v 120w suggestions?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-15, 02:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Led driver outdoors 12v 120w suggestions?

hi

As title I am searching for a led driver that can deliver approx. 120w at 12v in European 220v.
I want to install led strips outside. I have the rolls of led in 5m rolls. The run at around 36watts a piece. I am thinking that I need to run 3 wires from the driver. I doubt that daisy-chaining will do the first strip any good. It'll run way too hot and burn out. Running the wires isn't a problem, I just need the right driver :-)

Any and all ideas, thoughts and suggestions will be much appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-15, 02:39 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Do you need to dim them or will you just run them full brightness all the time?
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-15, 03:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
You could run just two conductors.... plus and minus. You are correct in that you usually can't daisy chain the strips.

Are you looking for a power supply with a plug..... something to hang on a house or are you going to enclose the power supply in an enclosure ?
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-15, 04:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
You maybe forced to put them in a waterproof encloser.
I didn't find a single 230/240v to 12vdc 10A weatherproof power supply.
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-15, 11:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dimming is not essential but wouldn't hurt:-)
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-15, 04:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do you mean? Just run 2 conductors? Plan was to have the driver outside.. I could have the driver inside but that would leave wires running down the side of the house :-/
 
  #7  
Old 10-14-15, 12:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
I'm still looking but haven't found what you want.

I misunderstood you..... you meant run three cables.... one from each strip to the power supply.
Yes... that would be correct.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: