Need help with lots of light wiring


  #1  
Old 10-13-15, 05:24 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help with lots of light wiring

okay this what i came up with. The diagram show 6 switches, 3 lights and a fan. The 3 bottom switches are dimmers: 2 - 3way are for lights and 1 - single pole is for a fan. The 3 top are normal switches: 2 - 3ways for lights and 1 single pole for outside light. I have two circuits because the left and right lights are both going have multiple along side the 1 I just didnt have enough room to put them.

So i need a 3way dimmer and a 3way to control the left side lights and I need a 3way dimmer and a 3way to control the right side lights. I also need the single pole fan dimmer to control the fan and the single pole on top to control the outside lights. I know the diagram is messy but it looks correct? Any help would be awesome. Thank you to everyone.

Click on picture for full size
 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-14-15 at 10:38 PM. Reason: added hosted pic/link
  #2  
Old 10-13-15, 06:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,122 Upvotes on 3,702 Posts
Hey... didn't I just see you in another thread.


The board compresses all the posted pics which make them hard to read. If you could put it on a hosting site and link to it here or send it to me and I'll host and post it for you.


About three way dimmers..... I get calls all the time to install them. They do make three way dimmers that have a dimmer at one end and a regular three switch at the other end. However, these dimmers never seem to come on at the right brightness.

I have since switched to using the Lutron Maestro dimmers. They also offer a companion control in place of the switch. These work in 99.9% of the applications I've used them in including incandescent and LED bulbs. The dimmer is controlled at both ends. The bulbs are brought up slowly to save shocking them. There is also a feature where you push the button and it turns off in 30 seconds. (I could be a Lutron salesman). I like to use a product I can rely on. They're also available in places like lowes and the depot.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-15, 09:12 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I can do that but I need wait until I get home. Also, do you have a link of the Lutrons you are speaking of?
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-15, 09:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,122 Upvotes on 3,702 Posts
A link for your perusal.................
lutron/US/Products/Pages/MaestroDimmerSwitch/Overview.aspx
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-15, 09:33 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Are those wired the same way? Also the companion switch, is that a portable one? Would i just put the companion switch in place of my second switch?
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-15, 10:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,122 Upvotes on 3,702 Posts
The following link has in depth info and wiring on the MA/CL dimmer.
The wall mounted companion switch looks identical but doesn't have the row of lights in it and it goes in place of the second switch.

lutron/TechnicalDocumentLibrary/369613a.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 10-14-15, 10:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,122 Upvotes on 3,702 Posts
Added the hosted diagram and link to your first post. Looks good.
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-15, 05:33 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Does 2 circuits make sense? I will have a total of 11 lights/fans. So thought with the amount of lights and dimmers and switches 2 made sense.
 
  #9  
Old 10-15-15, 06:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,122 Upvotes on 3,702 Posts
One circuit would probably be enough. The only way to know for sure is to add up the wattages.
 
  #10  
Old 10-15-15, 06:48 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I rather do 1 circuit but was unable to figure out how to do it with 1. Do you know what I would change in the wiring pattern?
 
  #11  
Old 10-15-15, 07:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,122 Upvotes on 3,702 Posts
You can go from the panel to the first switch box and then to the second box..... or come from the panel to a junction box, split off and go to each box. Hard to recommend with being there.
 
  #12  
Old 10-15-15, 07:53 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
After thinking about it, I think ill just stay with my 2 circuit plan as long as its correct, safe and to code?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: