Ceiling fan and 4 recessed lights


  #1  
Old 10-26-15, 05:23 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ceiling fan and 4 recessed lights

Hello, I have a ceiling fan hooked up that makes the recessed lights flicker/dim for a second when changing the speed of the fan. I have a 15 amp AFCI breaker hooked up to a 3way smart light dimmer then hooked to the companion 3way light dimmer which then goes to 4 recessed lights. The fan is hook on the same breaker but goes from breaker to fan switch to fan. The fan has no lights. I have a diagram of my wiring i did and links to all the equipment I have.

Lutron Skylark Contour 1.5-Amp Single-Pole/3-Way Quiet 3-Speed Fan Control - White-CTFSQ-FH-WH - The Home Depot

Lutron Maestro 600-Watt Multi-Location Digital Dimmer - White-MA-600MR-WH - The Home Depot

Lutron Maestro 600-Watt Multi-Location Companion Dimmer - White-MA-RR-WH - The Home Depot

Cree 6 in. TW Series 65W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) Dimmable LED Retrofit Recessed Downlight-DRDL6-06250009-12DE26-1C100 - The Home Depot

Hunter Mariner 52 in. Indoor/Outdoor White Ceiling Fan-59127 - The Home Depot
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 10-26-15, 06:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,036
Received 2,944 Votes on 2,657 Posts
Hi... I remember helping you previously. I recognize the diagrams.

I seem to remember recommending the Maestro dimmers to you. However, I don't recall you mentioning you were using LED lights. They make two versions of the dimmer..... one for incandescent and one for CFL/LED's. You need the MA/CL model. I think the companion is the same.

I'm guessing the flicker is the problem ? It won't hurt anything to leave it like that.
 
  #3  
Old 10-27-15, 03:22 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I posted the wrong link I have the one for CFL/LED bulbs.

Lutron Maestro 150-Watt Multi-Location Digital CFL-LED Dimmer Kit - White-MACL-153M-RHW-WH - The Home Depot

The issue is not the switch its the fan. When I have the lights on and then I turn the fan on its fine. But when I turn the speed of the fan up the lights will flicker/dim for a second then go back to normal.
 
  #4  
Old 10-27-15, 10:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,036
Received 2,944 Votes on 2,657 Posts
When you speed the fan up it draws a momentary spike in power to increase the speed.
I wouldn't worry about the flicker.
 
  #5  
Old 10-27-15, 10:59 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there a way to correct it though? I still have all my walls open and wires exposed.
 
  #6  
Old 10-27-15, 11:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,036
Received 2,944 Votes on 2,657 Posts
It would more than likely require the fan to be on a different circuit.

At this point there is no way of knowing if the momentary power spike is causing the flicker because of a voltage drop on the line or if the spike is affecting the dimmer circuitry itself.
 
  #7  
Old 10-27-15, 11:39 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't think its worth putting the fan on its own circuit. I already have 2 light circuits for the room, 3 would just be ridiculous.
 
  #8  
Old 10-27-15, 12:02 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Instead I could hook the porch light and fan control to 1 circuit and then hook the 4 3way switches and 8 lights to 1 circuit? Would 4 3way switches and 8 CFL/LED lights be to much for 1 circuit?
 
  #9  
Old 10-27-15, 12:07 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Or I could just keep the 8 lights, 1 outside light on 1 circuit then just give the fan its own. That would be easier to wire as well.
 
  #10  
Old 10-27-15, 12:17 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could a 15 amp circuit handle 8 LED lights, 1 regular light, 4 3way dimmer switches, and 1 regular switch?
 
  #11  
Old 10-27-15, 12:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Could a 15 amp circuit handle 8 LED lights, 1 regular light, 4 3way dimmer switches, and 1 regular switch?
All depends on watts but almost certainly. Mechanical switches consume no power. Modern dimmer are not a significant load.
 
  #12  
Old 10-27-15, 01:09 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well in that case I think I will put the fan on its own circuit and put all the lights on there own circuit. That should fix the issue im having.
 
  #13  
Old 10-27-15, 02:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,036
Received 2,944 Votes on 2,657 Posts
It would certainly be worth a try.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: