Rewiring three-way lamp...

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-15, 04:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Rewiring three-way lamp...

I've been trying to rewire this three way lamp. It was working before...

I've seen YouTube videos, but all of those show only 2 wires, whereas ours has 3.

There only seems to be space for two of the wires to get wrapped around and screwed down. Which two color wires would need to get screwed down? I'm guessing the black with the black screw and the red one with the bronze colored screw.

But, where does the third wire go? I do recall unscrewing it and it comes with a separate "plate" piece with a screw (the first pic below shows the red wire I randomly connected to the said plate w/ screw), I just don't remember where it fits in.

I've tested out hooking up various combos of only two of the color wires and that doesn't turn the lights on.

Below you'll find a couple pictures of the wiring I'm looking at.

Thanks in advance!


 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-02-15, 04:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,580
Likes Received: 108
The reason for three wires is usually there is a second bulb in the base of the fixture that is controlled from the upper switch.

Do you have that second bulb ?
Are you replacing that socket/switch combination ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-15, 04:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Yes, there are three bulbs. One main one and two smaller ones. The three way switch turns as follows:
1. Main light only, 2. Two smaller lights only, 3. All three lights.

Where do I wire the third wire, and which color wire? By the way, I put the red wire there with that separate plate and screw, so I'm unsure if that's the right color.
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-15, 04:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,580
Likes Received: 108
Are you replacing the lamp socket with a new one ?
If you are...... does the new one have the three screw terminals ?

Name:  2_circuit_lamp_switch.jpg
Views: 778
Size:  30.2 KB
 
  #5  
Old 11-02-15, 04:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
I'm using the same old socket.

I take it I'm not supposed to combine two wires together with one screw.
 
  #6  
Old 11-02-15, 04:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,580
Likes Received: 108
Ok.... so you are rewiring using the old socket and that metal clip came out. I can't tell where it goes back in but the diagram I posted shows the terminals on three sides.

You cannot combine that red wire with anything. If you connect it to the white/silver/neutral.... nothing will happen.

If you connect it to the black/brass/hot wire.... the lower lights will never turn off.
 
  #7  
Old 11-02-15, 05:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Thanks I'll have to look into that diagram and apply what you wrote. I'll let you know what happens.
 
  #8  
Old 11-03-15, 04:27 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 385
Likes Received: 1
That "extra" piece with the screw is actually a piece of the socket that broke off and there is no way to reattach it (They are riveted in place)

You would need to get another Keyed (Switched) three terminal socket (Not the one without the switch)

Here is what you need.

PS: No affiliation with TX Lamp Parts just trying to tell you what part you need to fix your lamp
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-15, 07:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Ok, I purchased a brand new 3 way socket from Home Depot today and it's still not working.


I believe that I've tried every iteration of wire connections, too. Although, I believe the "hot" wires are the red and white ones, since they are connected to the cord (picture below; bottom of lamp). So, the black (neutral) wire was put in the middle opposite the switch, as shown below. Is this setup correct?

I also tried using a different working light bulb that I'm using now for my other lamp, and it won't turn on. Do you think that the wires are fried, or perhaps just the ends are worn and I have to cut it down to make it "fresh" again? Before I even took it apart a couple days ago, the lamp worked so I'm pretty sure it's working. If somehow two of the wires touched when plugged in, would that cause it to break and what would need replacement? I don't know why else the lamp would not work, and I already bought a new socket.

Lastly, the socket only came with two screws (the middle plate and the brass colored screw where the white one is screwed down on). I had to add the black screw from my old socket to the new one (where the red one is connected in the pic below).

EDIT: Actually, looking at the diagram posted by PJMax again, it looks like the neutral wire should be one of the wires coming from the cord (red or white). But, I've tried the other colors already. Could you please let me know which color should be the neutral one, and which color wires should go on the sides?



 
  #10  
Old 11-05-15, 07:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,580
Likes Received: 108
A two screw terminal light socket won't work. That socket is for a three way bulb. You need a socket with night light switching.

One specifically like in the following link...... 3 Terminal Light Socket
 
  #11  
Old 11-05-15, 07:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Ahh that makes sense. Thanks.
 
  #12  
Old 11-05-15, 07:45 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
You may have purchased a plain 3 way socket, not a 3 way 3 terminal socket (often called a 3 way, 2 circuit socket). A plain 3 way socket is designed for 3 way bulbs (dim, medium, bright).

If you have the proper socket, or when you get one, the white wires are the neutral. The red wire is the hot wire from the cord that goes to the brass terminal on the socket as shown in PJmax's diagram. The black wire goes to the black terminal on the socket.
 
  #13  
Old 11-05-15, 08:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Does black terminal refer to the black screw? I think they'd make it intuitive but thought I'd ask just in case.

Also, I know PJMax put in a link to 1000bulb.com, but the shipping cost is $9! Will this do on eBay? It doesn't come with an insulator but I can use my old one:

Leviton 3 Terminal Turn Knob Lamp Socket Interior for Wiring Bottom Light Bulb | eBay
 
  #14  
Old 11-06-15, 05:22 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Bit of a crap shoot. They are semi-standard so it probably will work. Yes, black terminal is black screw.

FYI...1000bulbs sells that on amazon with 4.95 shipping.
 
  #15  
Old 11-06-15, 08:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Thanks I ordered one. And, thanks to everyone for their help so far!
 
  #16  
Old 11-12-15, 05:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
It came today and it all works. Thanks everyone!
 
  #17  
Old 11-12-15, 05:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,580
Likes Received: 108
You're welcome....... good news......
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes