Question about wiring a Magnetic Ballast

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-15, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about wiring a Magnetic Ballast

Hello Doityourself forums! this is my first post and I'm hoping to get some help on this forum. my question here is about my magnetic ballast which I use and would like to know how safe it is to use with this 250w capacitor by halco. I believe this is a 240v capacitor. I am somewhat of a novice DIYer and I followed tutorials online in order to wire this bare bones 400w High pressure sodium core and coil ballast. It is a CWA ballast. The ballast has 3 input voltages of 120/277/347v. My question is, what voltage is the 250w capacitor supposed to run at? I am currently using the 120v wire and would like to know if it would be suitable and safe to run with this particular capacitor. Please Advise ! I need some educated help. Thank you everyone!

Link to info on the 250w capacitor I am using:

http://www.amazon.ca/Halco-35MFD-Cap.../dp/B00DH12JCQ

Some technical data about the ballast:


Lamps
Operated
400W HPS

Rated Lamp
Wattage
400W

Input Operating
Wattage
465W

Input
Voltage
120/277/347V

Frequency
60Hz

Power
Factor
≥0.90

Line
Regulation
+/- 10%

Lamp
Voltage
100V

Open Circuit
Voltage
168V ~ 205V

Starting
Current
3.30/1.40/1.00A

Lamp
Current
4.70A

Lamp
Efficiency
0.83

ANSI
Lamp Code
S51

Ignitor
Model No.
IGN-S-200-400

Max. Distance
to Lamp
2ft
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-15, 10:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the purpose of the capacitor?
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-15, 10:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,746
Received 346 Votes on 324 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You're asking if you can use a run capacitor for a 250w sodium fixture for a 400w sodium fixture ???
No..... you'd use a run cap designed for a 400w lamp.

Are you certain you have a 400w HP sodium lamp..... that's a big lamp ?
You should be using a 55uf/240v cap on a 400w HPS lamp.
Are you following the wiring off the ballast for wiring the light up ?
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-15, 05:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, it is a 400w core and coil ballast and it came with a 55uf 285VAC capacitor. I have run this 35mfd/240v successfully with this ballast in the past..so I basically downgraded it. I just want to know if doing so is safe or not...
 
  #5  
Old 11-10-15, 05:16 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,995
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
If it requires a 55uf/285 VAC in the mfg specs then that is what should be used,what is the purpose for down grading?
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: