3 way switch in the hallway


  #1  
Old 11-22-15, 09:55 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 way switch in the hallway

I have a 3 way switch in the hallway. It was working fine until I changed the switch from a flip switch to a rocker/rocking decorative switch. I changed the first one near the end of the hallway and everything worked fine. When I changed the one near the bedroom, it started only working when this switch near the bedroom was in a particular position for the other switch to work. If you changed it to the other position, then switch 1 would not work.

switch 1 (near the end of the hall)

Name:  IMG_1284.jpg
Views: 300
Size:  34.2 KB
Name:  IMG_1285.jpg
Views: 335
Size:  28.4 KB
Name:  IMG_1286.jpg
Views: 301
Size:  27.2 KB
Name:  IMG_1287.jpg
Views: 238
Size:  32.8 KB
Name:  IMG_1288.jpg
Views: 292
Size:  38.0 KB

switch 2 (near bedroom)

Name:  IMG_1289.jpg
Views: 287
Size:  34.6 KB
Name:  IMG_1290.jpg
Views: 254
Size:  38.9 KB
Name:  IMG_1291.jpg
Views: 282
Size:  37.3 KB
Name:  IMG_1292.jpg
Views: 231
Size:  35.5 KB
Name:  IMG_1293.jpg
Views: 237
Size:  43.1 KB
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-15, 10:17 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,928
Received 214 Votes on 197 Posts
Double check your connections to be sure that the wire that was connected to the common terminal (usually stained a darker color) of the old switch is connected to the common terminal of the new switch.

It is better to use the screw terminals to hold the wires on. Exception: if the screws hold the wire in the hole to the extent that loosening the screw lets the wire pull out easily.

Did you remove enough of the insulation from the end of the wire? Usually at least half an inch. More to curl around if the wire slips out sideways as you are trying to tighten the screw.
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-15, 10:27 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,583
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
You didn't mark or pay attention to which wire was on which terminal did you?first off please remove the wires from those back stab connections and put them under the screw terminals,do you have only 3 conductors at one switch?if so with the power off put the white conductor on the dark colored screw and the black on the other terminal,and report back.
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-15, 11:47 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fixed.

I figured it out, the black and white wires on both switches were backwards. Switching them on both fixed the issue.

I checked the length of how much copper was exposed as well.
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-15, 03:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,953 Votes on 2,664 Posts
Just as aside for others reading....

When replacing three way switches it's imperative that the same wire go back on the dark/odd colored common screw. The other two wires are travelers and can go on either screw.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: