Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Lighting, Light Fixtures, Ceiling and Exhaust Fans
Reload this Page >

How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?

How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-15, 02:31 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?

How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-15, 02:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
I can see you have the Ambiance series of LV lights installed. What are you trying to add?
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-15, 03:03 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
LED lights into glass paneled cabinets.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-15, 05:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
Are they part of the Ambiance series? What part or model number? Is the current wiring under the cabinets already?
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-15, 05:47 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The Seagull transformer in the basement says model 9456-12.

If I google it, it takes me to some Ambiance website.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-15, 09:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
That is a 120vac to 12vac power supply.
Are you wanting to replace your incandescent lights with LED lighting ?
They make some really effective LED light strips.... very thin... low profile.
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-15, 10:17 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't I add LED light strips onto the same low voltage circuit?
 
  #8  
Old 12-10-15, 05:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
Probably, as long as they are 12 volt LED's
 
  #9  
Old 12-10-15, 05:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
Some LED strips run on DC only..... you'd need to confirm before connecting to an AC supply.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: