Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Lighting, Light Fixtures, Ceiling and Exhaust Fans
Reload this Page >

How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?

How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?


  #1  
Old 12-05-15, 02:31 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?

How to add LED glass cabinet lighting to existing Seagull undercabinet lighting?
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 12-05-15, 02:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
I can see you have the Ambiance series of LV lights installed. What are you trying to add?
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-15, 03:03 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
LED lights into glass paneled cabinets.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-15, 05:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
Are they part of the Ambiance series? What part or model number? Is the current wiring under the cabinets already?
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-15, 05:47 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The Seagull transformer in the basement says model 9456-12.

If I google it, it takes me to some Ambiance website.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-15, 09:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
That is a 120vac to 12vac power supply.
Are you wanting to replace your incandescent lights with LED lighting ?
They make some really effective LED light strips.... very thin... low profile.
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-15, 10:17 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't I add LED light strips onto the same low voltage circuit?
 
  #8  
Old 12-10-15, 05:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
Probably, as long as they are 12 volt LED's
 
  #9  
Old 12-10-15, 05:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Some LED strips run on DC only..... you'd need to confirm before connecting to an AC supply.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: