Wiring (2) 3-ways in a 2 gang box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-27-15, 08:24 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring (2) 3-ways in a 2 gang box?

I had no luck searching. At the bottom of my basement stairs there is two 3 way switches. One to control the lights in the stairs and on to control the basement lights. Coming into the box is 14-2 from the power source, 14-3 going to the stair lights 3 way, and 14-3 going to the other 3 way in the basement room. Please help! A diagram would be amazing help!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-27-15, 09:36 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,731
Received 65 Votes on 61 Posts
What are you trying to accomplish?
3 Way Switch Wiring Diagram
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-15, 09:46 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is two 3 way switches in a switch box at the bottom of my stairs. Another 3 way switch at the top of the stairs that controls the stair lights and another 3 way switch near the basement door exit. My question is how do I wire the two different 3 ways in the same box with the power wire coming in?
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-15, 10:17 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Coming into the box is 14-2 from the power source, 14-3 going to the stair lights 3 way, and 14-3 going to the other 3 way in the basement room.
IF you are sure where these cables go, i.e. 14-3 to each second switch:

Connect 2 pigtails to the 14-2 hot
Connect the hot pigtails to each 3 way. Attach to the "marked/common" terminal
Connect the white from 14-2 to white of both 14-3 cables

You now have a black and red remaining in each 14-3 cable going out:

These are travelers and will be connected to each 3-way using the traveler terminals of their respective switches. No particular order, they can be reversed.
 
  #5  
Old 12-27-15, 11:48 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,731
Received 65 Votes on 61 Posts
So these switches have never worked,how many cables are in the other switch boxes?be advised that the white conductors used for switch legs must be colored other than white.
 
  #6  
Old 12-27-15, 12:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I have a Luton slider dimmer 3 way. I hooked it up as follows and I turned it on and flipped the switch and the dimmer popped and two of the wires are burnt. The dimmer has 4 wires coming out of it.... red, black, red with white stripe and green. The black is connected to a pigtail from the other 3 way next to it and the black power in from the breaker. The red is connected to the black from the 14-3 other end switch 3 way. And the red/white stripe is connected to the red from the same 14-3 wire to other end 3 way. The green wire is connected to a wire nut where all the grounds are connected. What's wrong?!?!
 
  #7  
Old 12-27-15, 12:24 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just called technical support for Lutron and he said it sounds like I have it wired correctly but try getting a new switch and cutting and capping the green ground wire.
 
  #8  
Old 12-27-15, 12:28 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Geo asked what are you trying?
Change one switch to a dimmer?
No other switches were replaced and this is the only box where wires were disconnected?

I don't know how the common wire is marked on the dimmer, look at the instructions and see which wire is the common, then post back.
 
  #9  
Old 12-27-15, 12:43 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,731
Received 65 Votes on 61 Posts
The green must stay connected,the wires from the dimmer should connect exactly the same way the 3way switch was,which ever wire was on the common on the switch should be on the black wire on the dimmer,you can always reconnect the old switch and and get it working to be sure which wires are which,did the circuit breaker trip?
 
  #10  
Old 12-27-15, 12:45 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry I missed that.... there was two 3 ways wired there before but I removed two other circuits that were going to that ( smoke detectors and laundry room) and they are now on their own circuit. The black wire is common per instructions and the technical support guy said it sounds wired correctly and maybe the ground wire touched something. Idk.... I have another dimmer switch to try but at $25 a piece I don't want to blow another one. I tried to upload a picture but it won't work from my phone.
 
  #11  
Old 12-27-15, 01:12 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,731
Received 65 Votes on 61 Posts
That's why I suggested using a 3 way switch first to be sure you have it wired correctly
 
  #12  
Old 12-27-15, 02:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
but try getting a new switch and cutting and capping the green ground wire
He just flunked electric 101. The ground has nothing to do with the circuit.
 
  #13  
Old 12-27-15, 06:48 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Figured it out. Was an issue with the other 3 way being wired wrong. Thanks for all the input.
 
  #14  
Old 12-27-15, 08:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: