Multiple Recessed Cans on a Circuit Failed

Old 02-05-16, 04:51 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Multiple Recessed Cans on a Circuit Failed

Hi all - just joined, because I've got a strange problem. I'm no electrician, but know just enough to know this is weird: 11 year old house, with 15 original Juno IC-22 cans in the kitchen on 3 way switch. After moving in, I replaced one of the switches with a Lutron dimmer. I used to be in the LED lighting business, so I replaced all but 2 of the 65BR lamps with various LED par flood samples I had around 2010. All worked perfectly until recently. And these were all the absolute best available on the market at the time - Solais, CRS, Lednovation (RIP).

First, the dimmer would no longer dim. Both the original 3-way switch and the dimmer would turn off/on to 100%. Then one of the two fixtures remaining with an incandescent failed. Before I got around to replacing it, 2 of the LED fixtures failed. The next day, 2 more. I thought maybe leaving the defective dimmer in was causing my LED lamps to fail.

So I go to the store, buy a new dimmer (C-L type - for CFL's and LED), bunch of bulbs, and start to replace. BUT - I find that none of the bulbs were failed. No power to the fixtures. Tried a standard incandescent in one, didn't work, but worked in other fixtures. Tried the "failed" LED's I'd removed in another fixture, and they worked. Tested the socket w/multimeter, and nothing.

So what could be the deal here? Nothing I can think of makes sense. Googled the Juno cut sheet to see if it had a thermal fuse or something (which wouldn't make sense anyway, since I'm using 6-8W lamps vs. 65-75W). Can't see that it uses them. Seems if a critter chewed the wires, the whole circuit would be out. Plus, the outages are scattered, not in a pattern that an electrician would likely have wired.