New fan/light switch install


  #1  
Old 05-07-16, 02:02 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New fan/light switch install

I just purchased a new ceiling fan/light online. I'm not sure if I should try to install this myself, or maybe send it back. I've installed a bunch of repllacement fans before but I'm not sure about this one. I presently have a dual wall switch...one for the light and one for the fan. The new switch is just a single control for both. I'm not sure what to do. Is this complicated or not for a guy who can do simple installs? I'm attaching a photo of my present setup and 2 photos (front and back) of the new fan/light control. Your input is much appreciated.

Name:  2.jpg
Views: 425
Size:  33.9 KB

Name:  2A.jpg
Views: 340
Size:  41.1 KB

Name:  2B.jpg
Views: 274
Size:  33.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-07-16 at 05:03 PM. Reason: reoriented pictures
  #2  
Old 05-07-16, 02:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 61,718
Received 3,342 Upvotes on 3,001 Posts
What we need to see is the wiring behind the existing switches. Can you turn the power off, pull the two switches out of the box without disconnecting any wires and shoot a pic or two for us.

Since you are putting in a single combo switch... how do you plan to fill/cover the empty space ?
Maybe leave a dummy switch in place.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-16, 03:25 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hope this helps. Name:  IMG_1657.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  31.1 KBName:  IMG_1658.jpg
Views: 168
Size:  34.2 KB I was thinking of a dummy switch in its place. Is there anything else I could do?
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-16, 05:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
You should currently have one house black wire that is connected to both switches. That is your power in black. That goes to the switch "line in" black, probably the black next to the switch green ground. That leaves a black and blue on the other end. Blue is to the house red to the light (assuming the red is used for the light). The other black is to the fan motor house black.

Whites are left connected as is. Grounds connected according to code. according to code.

I can't read the diagram on the new switch so you will need to verify by looking at it or posting a clear picture of it.
thinking of a dummy switch in its place. Is there anything else I could do?
Yes, the new switch seems to be for Decora so you can use a duplex Decora plate and a Decora blank.

Name:  80414-W-orig.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  11.4 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-07-16 at 05:20 PM.
  #5  
Old 05-07-16, 05:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 61,718
Received 3,342 Upvotes on 3,001 Posts
You will remove the red wire nut.
Remove the black wire to each switch.
Attach the source/hot wire from the new switch to that location and put the red wire nut back on.

Not sure which switch controls what but you have a red wire on one switch and black wire on the other switch. Connect them to the proper outputs on the new switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: