Recessed Lighting Layout


  #1  
Old 06-15-16, 11:14 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Recessed Lighting Layout

I want all junction boxes to be accessible, can i use this layout? Thank you

Name:  layout.jpg
Views: 577
Size:  20.0 KB

If I follow the layout below, it would be difficult for me to access the junction box. The cutout is only 70mm.

Name:  lay22.jpg
Views: 328
Size:  15.0 KB

Landlite LL-2701-4 WHT product from Philippines
Name:  LL-2701-4-WHT.jpg
Views: 641
Size:  12.6 KB

we are using 240v
 

Last edited by culdown; 06-16-16 at 12:20 AM.
  #2  
Old 06-15-16, 11:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I want all junction boxes to be accessible.
It would be a code violation if they weren't. All recessed lights have built in permanently accessible junction boxes. Adding unneeded junction boxes only increases your points of failure. The recessed lights can be daisy chained.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-16, 11:24 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the reply. My recessed lights doesn't have built in junction box. So i wonder if this layout is safe.
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-16, 11:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
My recessed lights doesn't have built in junction box.
Please post the make and model of your lights or post pictures. If these are 120 volt lights there must be a junction box at the light for connections.
 
  #5  
Old 06-16-16, 12:29 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's a product from the Philippines and we are using 240V. btw My location is Philippines

I want to use the first layout because I thought it would be easy for me to access all junction boxes. My knowledge is limited so I want to know the other method to easily access junction box inside the ceiling.

My last resort is to splice it outside without junction box. Bad idea but I can easily access it.
 

Last edited by culdown; 06-16-16 at 12:56 AM.
  #6  
Old 06-16-16, 07:47 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I missed your location. Your plan is probably okay but I'm not familiar enough with wiring in your area to give a definite answer.
 
  #7  
Old 06-16-16, 06:53 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Your positive answer is enough for me. Thank you very much
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: