Moving a light switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-16, 01:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moving a light switch

Hi,
I need to move a light switch in a hallway to the opposite wall. At the switch, there is a connection for an outlet and the whole thing looks like in the picture currently. I want to replicate all the connections inside a connection box near the ceiling, and then extend only the two wires connected to the switch through the ceiling and over to the wall on the opposite side of the hallway. Does that sound an okay thing to do? I noticed that there is no ground on the switch. Is that acceptable? Thanks!Name:  WIN_20160625_142635.jpg
Views: 582
Size:  18.8 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-16, 01:54 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Your plan would be fine, but why not use this existing box as the junction box and run the switch leg over to the new box. Then put a blank cover on this one. If you try to move the jbox to up near the ceiling, you may not have enough cable to reach from wherever the feed and outlet connections come from.

In any case, you will need to run 3 conductor cable (plus ground) to the new switch box as code now requires a neutral in every switch box, even if it is not used at this time. Just wire nut it in the new box. The switch should have a ground connection unless you use a self-grounding switch in a metal box.



Good luck with your project.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-16, 01:55 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,166
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
A couple of things, does that switch control an overhead light? Can you put a plank plate over that switch box and still have it accessible?if so you could possibly run your new switch leg from the overhead light.
Just a thought.
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-16, 02:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much for your replies. Yes, this switch controls an overhead light, but running the switch from there would be difficult as I would have to open up the ceiling.

Moving the junction box up will not be a problem as all the wires come from the ceiling anyway. When you say wire nut the neutral in the new box do you mean to just cover it with a nut and that's all? How about at the other end in the junction box?

Thanks,
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-16, 04:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
you mean to just cover it with a nut and that's all?
It is connected to the neutral in the original switch box. In the new switch box since it isn't needed you just put a wire nut on it and fold it out of the way.
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-16, 05:12 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
And remember that the jbox, wherever you put it, has to remain accessible.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-16, 05:59 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,166
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
Already posted once
Sorry
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: