Changing lighting wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-16, 06:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changing lighting wiring

Hello,

In my kitchen, there are three lightswitches. On one side there is a single switch, which controls the kitchen lights. On the opposite side, by the back door, there is a double-switch, on which, one switch also controls the kitchen lights, and the other controls the outside light.

I would like to change it so there is only two switches: one for the kitchen lights (where the existing single switch is) and one for the outside light - replacing the double-switch with a single.

Here is how it is currently wired:

The single switch has a black wire with a grey sleeve doing into the top, a grey wire going into the bottom-left (when looking at the back of the plate) and a brown wire going into the bottom-right.

Name:  IMG_3936.jpg
Views: 257
Size:  22.6 KB
Name:  Untitled.png
Views: 319
Size:  43.3 KB

On double switch, the switch that controls the kitchen lights (i.e. the switch I want to remove) has a black wire going into the top, a grey and a brown wire going into the bottom-left, two brown wires going into the bottom-right, and a brown wire connecting the bottom-right to the top of the other switch (so there is a total of three wires in the bottom-right). The switch that controls the garden light (i.e. the switch I want to keep) has a brown wire with a grey sleeve going into the borrom-left and the wire connecting the two going into the top.

Name:  IMG_3935.jpg
Views: 268
Size:  24.9 KB
Name:  Untitled copy.jpg
Views: 246
Size:  19.2 KB

What do I need to do?

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-16, 09:34 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
Depending on how the three way switch is wired you may not be able to remove it. Why do you want to remove the three way?
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-16, 10:31 AM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 962
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I have never seen switches or cable like that. Is this in a mobile home?
Andy
 
  #4  
Old 07-14-16, 12:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nope, just a regular house.
 
  #5  
Old 07-14-16, 12:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
Where are you located? .
 
  #6  
Old 07-14-16, 12:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The UK

(Apparently this post is too short, so just padding it out...)
 
  #7  
Old 07-14-16, 03:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
This is primarily a North American forum as you can guess at the questioning about devices. We can give general advice about what you call a 2-way and we call a 3-way but it may or may not be applicable to UK wiring which uses a different wire color scheme and somewhat different devices. We can comment on if what you want to do is a code violation. Here code depending on a number of factors and local code may require a switch at both doors.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: