Can you use "índoor only" light electronics outside in a weatherproof box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-01-16, 05:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 642
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you use "índoor only" light electronics outside in a weatherproof box?

For example a Phillips primavision mini. It would go in a ip64 Alum box.

Is there a rule of thump for how far the control gear can be from the bulb?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-01-16, 10:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,203
Received 378 Votes on 355 Posts
As far as I know.... an IP64 box is not considered water proof like an NEMA 3 enclosure.

You want to remote a ballast. Is the fixture weatherproof ??
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-16, 10:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 642
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry it's ip65. It's sold as weather proof but not immersion proof.

The fixture is weatherproof. The ballast is not. None of the small ones are. Edit: that I've found, I've asked in a few stores and the smallest outdoor ballasts are 250w


I notice that sometimes in stadiums or parking lots they have all the ballasts on the central post with the lights distributed along a rail. Is there a limit to how far the ballast can be from the bulb?
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-16, 10:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
I worked in one facility that had high-bay mercury vapor lights where the ballasts were mounted on a building column at floor level for service. Some of the wire runs probably exceeded fifty feet.
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-16, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 642
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Furd,

Do you know if the used regular cables or do they need special ones. Normal low voltage wires say 750v but I think the striking current for the discharge lights is several kv.
 
  #6  
Old 08-01-16, 05:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
All the wiring was in metallic conduit and I never had any reason or inclination to remove any covers to inspect the wiring. I assume it was just standard THHN/THWN insulated copper. I could be wrong.
 
  #7  
Old 08-01-16, 09:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,203
Received 378 Votes on 355 Posts
You didn't say what lamps or exact ballasts you're using but I doubt the voltage is as high as you think. Many ballasts have open circuit voltage listed on them.

Most ballasts I've remoted used standard THHN wiring. That includes 1000w metal halide fixtures.
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-16, 10:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 642
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These are the bulbs MASTERColour CDM-T 35W/830 G12 1CT/12 MASTERColour CDM-T - Philips Lighting

It says ignition peak voltage (max) 5000, but I'm not completely clear on how a ballast works so it's all Greek to me. I'll just use appropriately sized copper
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: