Hunter fan and light have to be on.


  #1  
Old 08-15-16, 05:13 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hunter fan and light have to be on.

We just moved into a new house and 2 of the Hunter fans will not run unless the light is on. There isn't a pull chain for either one because a remote controls them.

With the wall switch on the light and fan are on.
The remote will speed up and slow down the fan as well as stop it.
The remote will not turn the light off at all.
Turn the wall switch off and the light goes off but then the fan will not come on.

I looked up the owners manual online and pulled the light fixture and verified the connections. All appear to be correct. It is odd that the 2 remote control fans are doing this.

The previous owner says that the living room fan and light worked seperate but they never used the bedroom fan. neither work correctly for me.

They were the 2nd owners and did not install the fans.

Any ideas before I call Hunter?

Thanks
Wade
 
  #2  
Old 08-15-16, 06:52 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,182
Received 174 Upvotes on 142 Posts
It could be the remotes or it could be the receiver (the part of the remote that's in the fan). It's fairly common for the light button on the remotes to fail as it is usually used the most.

If you have another Hunter fan of the same style that works correctly, you could try using that remote on one of the fans where the light doesn't work. You will have to change the dipswitch setting on the remote to correspond to the other fan.

The way the physical wall switch controls both fan and light is normal when there is only one switch for the fan.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-16, 06:56 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,969
Received 727 Upvotes on 643 Posts
Give a pic of the fan, the remote and the wiring if possible. Just a thought, does the remove have separate buttons for light and fan? If so replace the batteries.

Here is mine.



 
  #4  
Old 08-15-16, 10:29 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Mine appears to be pretty old. I just changed the batteries but still did not work. I see the pins in the remote but not in the canopy to compare them to.

Name:  20160815_111029-1_resized.jpg
Views: 516
Size:  33.6 KB
Name:  20160815_111430_resized.jpg
Views: 360
Size:  14.2 KB
Name:  20160815_111604-1_resized.jpg
Views: 640
Size:  26.3 KB
Name:  20160815_111623-1_resized.jpg
Views: 304
Size:  23.3 KB
Name:  20160815_111627-1_resized.jpg
Views: 617
Size:  20.6 KB
Name:  20160815_111636-1_resized.jpg
Views: 553
Size:  37.4 KB
Name:  20160814_125408-1_resized.jpg
Views: 625
Size:  11.7 KB
 
  #5  
Old 08-15-16, 10:38 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,397
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
The remote receiver is not in any of those pictures. It's either in the canopy above the fan or built into the fan itself.
 
  #6  
Old 08-15-16, 10:55 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,969
Received 727 Upvotes on 643 Posts
You should have receiver, transmitter jumper or dip switches which should be matched.
Try a different dip switch combination.

See : http://www.belowcostappliances.com/info/fans/owners-manuals/pdf/remote-supplement.pdf

 
  #7  
Old 08-15-16, 11:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,985
Received 198 Upvotes on 173 Posts
We really need to see the connections above the motor.
 
  #8  
Old 08-15-16, 01:12 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Ok so I need to pull the fan down from the ceiling right?

Thanks
Wade
 
  #9  
Old 08-15-16, 01:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Yes. We need to see the power connections. They are at the ceiling.
 
  #10  
Old 08-16-16, 04:18 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I did not have time to pull the fan down last night but I did disconnect the light harness so it wasn't hanging. After that the fan didn't work. I could hear the sensor clicking when using the remote. The wall switch was on.

I plugged the harness back in and the fan worked again. I just unscrewed the light bulbs after that so the fan was usable.

Does this give any more information to go on until I get it down?
Internal sensor?
If internal can it be replaced?

Thanks
Wade
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: