Lomanco attic fan not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-16, 02:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 439
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lomanco attic fan not working

I have a Lomanco attic fan, model# F0510B2944 that stopped working about a week ago. house is 16 years old. I replaced motor/blade assembly about 14-15 years ago (no charge by manufacturer). Not sure if it's thermostat or motor, and don't know how to test. I could just replace both (or purchase both and replace 1 at a time) but would like to do it correctly (my luck it is a faulty/loose wire!!) About $68 for motor and $28 for thermostat from manufacturer, exact replacement. Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-16, 03:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Bypass the thermostat by connecting the two wires to it together with a wire nut. Turn the breaker back on and see if it runs.
 
  #3  
Old 09-03-16, 10:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 439
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Going to troubleshoot fan & thermostat today, being both are about 16 years old, does it make sense to replace thermostat even if working fine? If fan is ok, I may just order replacement to keep on hand. Thoughts?
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-16, 03:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 439
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok, disconnected fan & bypassed thermostat. Nothing. Ordered a new motor from manufacturer, not going to replace thermostat unless I have issues when installing new motor.

Any way to test if thermostat is working while waiting for new motor to arrive?

Also had a tough time getting the old motor/fan assembly out passed the 3 angle brackets. Thinking I need to insert new motor and fan blade separately into housing so I don't bend the blades, does this sound right?
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-16, 03:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,633
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
You should have 120vac at the fan motor if the the thermostat is working.
You could also check for 120vac inside the thermostat junction box.

Some of those fans require the motor and blades to be installed separately.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: