ceiling lighting wiring help

Old 08-21-16, 01:08 PM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ceiling lighting wiring help

Hi,

I moved to a new condo in Toronto, and am having trouble figuring out the wiring (I have some basic experience, but I couldn't figure this out so hopefully someone can help me )

Background
The control panel has 3 switches, and are wired as so:
Name:  switches.jpg
Views: 560
Size:  28.1 KB
For clarification, we'll call the switches 1,2, and 3 from left to right. The top of 1 (1T) has an orange wire connected to wall, and another orange wire connected to the bottom of switch 2 (2B). The bottom of switch 1 (1B) is also connected to the wall via a brown wire. 2T is connected from the wall via a blue wire, as well as 3B via a brown wire. 3T is connected to the wall via a pink wire, and 3B is connected to 2T via a brown wire.

The ceiling has 2 outlets, and look like this:
1st outlet (I'd prefer to use this one based on its location)
Name:  outlet 1.jpg
Views: 875
Size:  53.6 KB
For clarification, there is 1 black wire bundle, 2 white wire bundles, 1 green wire bundle, 1 orange wire bundle, a single brown wire (without the twist on wire connector), and a pink wire (same colour as the switch) that I can see near the top, but isn't exposed or comes out in any way).

2nd outlet
Name:  outlet 2.jpg
Views: 526
Size:  51.1 KB
For clarification, there is 1 black wire bundle, 2 white wire bundles, 2 green wire bundle, 1 orange wire bundle, a single blue wire (without the twist on wire connector), and a pink wire (same colour as the switch) that I can see near the top, but isn't exposed or comes out in any way).

Testing
So basically all I want to do is control a single light fixture (it comes with a black/white/ground wire) to be controlled by one switch. I don't understand why the switches are wired together like that, but tried all the combinations via an electrical test pen, with the following:

1 2 3 | Brown Blue Pink
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
0 0 0 | 0 0 0