Splicing LED tape light strips

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-03-16, 03:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Splicing LED tape light strips

I bought one of those rolls of led lights to light a bookcase.
It's a continuous roll of 16 feet.
But I need it divided into 4 separate Strips to run off of the same power supply. One strip under each shelf and connected behind the cabinet.
I need the connectors for the strips to be about 12 to 14 inches each.
Someone mentioned I could use 'clips' to connect the strips but that's all I got from them.
What kind of clips would that be? Alligator clips?
And what gauge wire do I need to connect the strips?
I don't have a soldering iron but could use my neighbors u guess
Clips sound like they'd be easier if I could get by with that.
Actually they should better since I need to fish them through holes drilled in the back of the case to all connect behind the cabinet.
Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-16, 05:34 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,025
Received 230 Votes on 212 Posts
The "clips" are specific to the tape lights you bought. I usually buy the clips/connectors when I buy the lights. I get most of mine from Super Bright LEDs. You can look for a LED tape that is most similar to what you have and see if their connectors will fit.

I also often solder wire onto the end of one tape to connect over to another tape. It's more reliable than the clip on connectors but you do have to make sure you keep the polarity correct. I know you said you don't have a soldering iron but they are relatively inexpensive and might be the same cost as buying connectors and paying shipping.
 
  #3  
Old 09-03-16, 06:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Very good. I would buy the clips but none of them, that if seen, are long enough. As I said I need about 12 or 18 inches between the strips.
But what gauge wire do I use if I go the soldering route?
And how do I keep the polarity correct?
Many thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 09-03-16, 08:02 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If you use the clips, you can extend the wires using 18 to 22 gauge wire. 22 gauge is good for up to about 60 watts of LEDs if the runs are fairly short. Use 18 for higher wattages or longer runs (more than a few feet). You can join the wire to the pigtails from the clips using wire nuts or butt splice terminals.

You would use the same gauges for soldering the wires to the strips. Use a low wattage soldering pencil to avoid melting the strips.

The strips are usually marked for polarity, + and -. You always want + to + and - to -. If they aren't marked, just connect them with wires in the same orientation they were connected before you cut them apart.
 
  #5  
Old 09-03-16, 08:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I'm not trying to be dense.
Again, when we talk 'clips' there are lots of clips. And some are talking about those premade clip extensions..are we talking about an alligator clips? If I just get 22g wire, pull back coating, crimp into an alligator clip and connect to the appropriate polarity? Then tape with electrical tape?
like this?Name:  alligator clips.jpg
Views: 107
Size:  13.5 KB
These would be simple. But would that connection work?
Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-16, 11:12 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No, there are special connectors with wire leads attached that clamp onto the LED strips. The make the transition from strip to wires. But as someone said earlier, they are often brand-specific so you usually have to get them from the same place as the LED strips.

Take a look at this guide to get some ideas:

http://www.leevalley.com/US/html/00u...de-jan2015.pdf

The specifics may not be exactly the same as your brand, but they are all pretty similar...
 
  #7  
Old 09-03-16, 12:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Right. I'm cool with but those.
But what if the 'clips' are not long enough..?
All I'm seeing, and I maybe missing them, but are 6 inch clip connectors.
As I said I need 12 to 18 inches of space between Strips.
 
  #8  
Old 09-03-16, 12:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Picture of what I need

Ok, I decided to attach a pic of what I need.
See those 3 shelves and a top? Each one is about 4 feet.
I want to put these LED strips UNDER each one to light the stuff below.
The depth of the shelf is 12 Inches and the space between the shelving is about 12 to 14"
so if all I can find is a 6 inch 'clip' to splice the strips together, they're will be LED lights everywhere, even behind the cabinet.
Name:  14139337_10210746950898177_1213922827_o.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  28.0 KB
 
  #9  
Old 09-03-16, 12:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,114
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
Did you get the tape already or do you know what you are getting ? Post a link for us.

You mean "what if the splices are not long enough"?

The clip is where the wires attach to the tape.
The clip assembly would be a clip and a piece of wire.


Name:  led.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  28.6 KB
 
  #10  
Old 09-03-16, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #11  
Old 09-03-16, 12:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found these below and wondered if those male pins would link together two of the connectors. That length might work for me.

This shouldn't be this hard. I think I'm making it hard. I surely cannot be the first man to want to use this type lighting in a cabinet.
https://www.amazon.com/Anpro-Connect...onnector&psc=1
 
  #12  
Old 09-03-16, 01:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, this is overkill but would this work? It's 5 pieces of 3 feet long. I could zip the excess up behind the cabinet.
Just seems like there should be SOMETHING between 6 inches and 3 feet.
https://www.amazon.com/AspenTek-Chan...ight+connector
 
  #13  
Old 09-03-16, 02:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,114
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
There are also two different systems... basic white LED strips or multi color RGB strips. The cables aren't interchangeable. Those cables may not work with the strips you have.


I bought one of those rolls of led lights to light a bookcase.
What did you buy ? Can you give us ANY info on it ??
 
  #14  
Old 09-03-16, 02:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry I posted it in another post.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...=vglnkc4130-20
 
  #15  
Old 09-03-16, 02:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,114
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
No problem.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but that strip is a one piece weatherproof. It's not designed to be cut or modified.

You need exposed, bulk type tape like the following.
amazon/Landscape-decoration-festivals-led-strips

If you look down the page you'll see they've given you a kit to buy. The tape, a power supply and splices. If you click on the splices it will take you to their install page and there is a video there you can select from the pictures.
 
  #16  
Old 09-03-16, 02:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, wow. Ummmm...See it's my fault.LOL.
I've just never dealt with these lights.
 
  #17  
Old 09-03-16, 02:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, so I return these bright whites.
And get https://www.amazon.com/Landscape-dec...7&keywords=led strips lights&tag=vglnkc4130-20
Those splices in that kit are simply not long enough to do what I've mentioned.
Are there longer splices that'll work? 18" splices????
I'm kind of back to square one.
Would these long splicers work with it??
https://www.amazon.com/AspenTek-Chan...3&keywords=rgb strip light connector&tag=vglnkc4130-20
 
  #18  
Old 09-03-16, 03:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,114
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
Did you look at the video ?

You need two wire connectors.... not RGB.

I highlighted their page. On it you'll see an install video. Also their listings for all their parts. They list 6" and 6' ext cables. I don't see any other ones on their page. You could look for other 8mm LED tape connectors.

amazon-Hit-Lights--Connector-Extension-Single
 
  #19  
Old 09-03-16, 03:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your help PJ.
Only video I'm seeing on this page is one about CFL vs LED.
 
  #20  
Old 09-03-16, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you look at the video ?
On this page?
https://www.amazon.com/Landscape-dec...=vglnkc4130-20
 
  #21  
Old 09-03-16, 03:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,114
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
It's in the link in post #18.
 
  #22  
Old 09-03-16, 03:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OIC.
And you clearly said if I clicked on the link it would take me to the links and the install video.

Alright, now we're getting somewhere.
I can get those in 3 foot sections, with the connectors on the ends already there.
I just need to get that type LED light that you linked to and I'm good to go.?
I can use the power supply that I already have, that's 12v.
 
  #23  
Old 09-03-16, 03:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,114
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
If you look down the page you'll see they've given you a kit to buy. The tape, a power supply and splices. If you click on the splices it will take you to their install page and there is a video there you can select from the pictures.
Is what I posted back in post 15.

I guess you can use their supply. The connectors may not match but it can be spliced.
Three foot extensions would work.

I have bags of those connectors and just add whatever length wire I need.
 
  #24  
Old 09-03-16, 04:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I really appreciate all of your help PJmax
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: