Outdoor sidewalk post light

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-04-16, 02:13 PM
kennyv519's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 74
Outdoor sidewalk post light

The previous owner of my home removed the outside walkway light post when they reconfigured the sidewalk. I located where this post stood in the yard and would like to try to find out if the electrical lines are still there and if they in fact still work. I do have an interior switch in the house that i'm guessing was for this light at one time.

I located the metal post in the front yard where it was cutoff and removed. Is there a simple and relatively easy way to get down to where the wiring would be without having to dig the hell out of my yard?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-04-16, 02:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,518
Likes Received: 105
I'm guessing that the wiring was removed from that switch so that power was sent out to a dead cable.

You'll need to dig around the pole until you find the cable. Hopefully the pole is not encased in concrete.
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-16, 02:42 PM
kennyv519's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 74
PJ, actually, when I flip that interior switch, it blows out a breaker in the box! I'm guessing there is still power going out to that line!
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-16, 03:20 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 19,797
Likes Received: 69
I would turn off that breaker and dig outside. Post back with a picture if you can because the experts will want to see how much wire you have to work with and what type it is.
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-16, 01:47 PM
kennyv519's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 74
Guys, the wiring for this post light is more than likely original with the house (1956). Would anyone know how deep the wiring may be buried?
 
  #6  
Old 09-12-16, 02:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
24" if cable and code. .
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-16, 12:22 PM
kennyv519's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 74
I located the wiring in the cut off portion of the mount outside and it is Romex. Can anyone tell me how to go about seeing if there is continuos power going to these wire tips using the switch inside?

Thanks guys!

Name:  PostLight.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  51.5 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes