Bypassing motion sensor wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-16, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bypassing motion sensor wiring

Hi all,

New homeowner and new to any sort of DIY projects or home improvements. For my first electrical task, I want to take a light that is gated both by a switch AND a sensor, and take the sensor out of the equation. I opened the lights, and in the back I saw multiple wires, with multiple entry points:

From the sensor, three wires are coming out: red, black and white. Mark these as Rs Bs Ws.
From the floodlight, two wires: black and white. Mark these as Rf and Bf.
Thereís a small pipe in there thatís coming from downstairs, with two wires, red and white. Mark these Rp and Wp
And last, there are two wires coming from within the wall, black and white. Mark these Bw and Ww.

So overall:
Sensor: Rs Bs Ws
Pipe: Rp Wp
Wall: Bw Ww
Floodlight: Bf Wf

The wires are currently hooked as follows:
Cap1: Ww Wf Wp Ws
Cap2: Bf Rs Rp (black floodlight)
Cap3: Bw Bs (bw = switched hot wire)

Iím wondering how to hook these so that light will simply turn on when the switch is on.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Frylock
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-16, 11:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,442
Received 215 Votes on 204 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Basically you are concerned with the sensor.
You want to move what is on the red wire.... to the black wire.

Cap1: Ww Wf Wp Ws
Cap2: Rs
Cap3: Bw Bs (bw = switched hot wire) add Bf and Rp

(absolutely no idea what the wires in the pipe are for unless there is a second light)
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-16, 09:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pete, that's super helpful!

Yes, the pipe does take it to another light that is controlled by the same switch, but not by the sensor. Does that make sense then?

Also, would it be OK to adjust these wires with the switch turned off, but the circuit still hot? Or do I need to turn the circuit off?
 
  #4  
Old 09-13-16, 11:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,442
Received 215 Votes on 204 Posts
I can only recommend turning the circuit off.

Your description says..... black from floodlight AND red from pipe where on the sensor red wire.
That means both were controlled by the sensor.
 
  #5  
Old 09-13-16, 11:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ahhhhhh
Now it makes perfect sense!

Will fix it tonight and report back.
Thanks so much.
 
  #6  
Old 09-13-16, 03:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It worked! I also took out Rs, taped the ends both Rs and Bs with frogtape, put one of them in a cap all on its own. The switch now controls both lights, the sensor still in tact but circumvented!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes