Transformers for landscape lighting

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-25-16, 12:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Transformers for landscape lighting

I bought a nice transformer (stainless steel, four 300W taps etc.) about 10 yrs ago, and finally will be getting around to using it :-D. Well, in the interim, LED came along. Now I cannot imagine using the transformer to near its capacity. Are there any rules as to minimum load per tap, or need to balance load on different taps?

Thanks!!
J.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-25-16, 01:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Landscape lighting planning question

I was plannig on having my transformer in my garage (towards the front of the house). My transformet have plenty of capacity, and 4 taps. I would like to run some wire thru the attic to the back yard. Should I utilize say 2 of the for taps for this, or just run a "trunk wire" to the back, and split it at the back of the house. Of course, I will adhere to load and current calculations.

Thanks!
J.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-16, 01:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,457
Received 215 Votes on 204 Posts
I combined your two threads into one.

Can you post the make and model of the transformer you are using.
It would most likely not be 300 watts a tap.

LED's are not particularly voltage sensitive so there doesn't need to be much circuit balancing done.

You could run a cable from the transformer thru the attic to the back yard. It may need to be NM or UF cable as that low voltage cable is not usually specified for in wall use. You'd probably need #10 depending on the distance and the load.
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-16, 01:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Upvotes: 0
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I was plannig on having my transformer in my garage
Most landscape lighting transformers are not rated for inside use.
I would like to run some wire thru the attic to the back yard.
If run in walls it must be class 2. I doubt most land scape wiring is. Amperage wise you are okay but you need to give thought to possible restrictions on how to wire it.
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-16, 04:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure how to post pictures in a reply, but it it does have 4 circuits, each rated for up to 300W. It has 7 Taps, ranging from 12V to 22V

Model: TR 1200-1222
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes