Surface Mount switch


  #1  
Old 10-31-16, 01:18 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 98
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Surface Mount switch

I recently was given a Leviton Surface Mount switch. Its labelled as a toggle basically for wall mounting. Apparently they used to be very common and now harder to find. My questions would be: What are the common uses for this switch? I wanted to put it on wall by the door to control a 3 way lamp. I have the appropiate wire for lamp and polarized plug replacement. The Leviton switch is rated 5a-250v -10a-125v.
I tried to do some research but got confused as most switches i have are of course 15a and I've just never seen this before. Can I use it still? Thanks in advance!

Name:  Screenshot_20161031-021715.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  5.5 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-31-16 at 02:03 AM. Reason: Crop image.
  #2  
Old 10-31-16, 01:59 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The ones I am familiar with were used with lamp cord stapled to the wall or baseboard. Not a method that would meet modern code. Today you would use surface raceway, surface mount boxes, THHN wire, and standard devices. Look up Wiremold on the internet for more information.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-16, 02:00 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 98
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well i know you can buy inline cord switches and they say on packages for lamps or small appliances. Most of the ones i saw were rated 3a or 6a. Since I am only using the switch for a lamp I think I should be fine. It must of been seeing the wierd amp on switch which made me wonder is all.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: