Trying to install new motion detector light


  #1  
Old 11-16-16, 03:17 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trying to install new motion detector light

Can you tell me which wire do I have to connect to which? I took photo of the old one and new one side by side. I am a brand new homeowner, god bless me.
Name:  20161116_170050.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  16.5 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 11-16-16, 04:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,605
Received 3,885 Upvotes on 3,482 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You have a three way switch in the wall and a single pole device.
That means you need a motion detector switch that works in a three way circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-16, 07:35 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How about this one?

Can I swap it for one of those?

Name:  two switches.jpg
Views: 108
Size:  25.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-16-16 at 08:00 PM. Reason: cropped/enlarged pic
  #4  
Old 11-16-16, 08:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,605
Received 3,885 Upvotes on 3,482 Posts
Yes... either of those switches can be replaced.

You'll find one black wire looped from one switch to another. Depending on which switch you replace you may have to cut the loop at that switch so that you can attach one of the motion switch lines.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: