Lighting and switch


  #1  
Old 11-16-16, 02:38 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lighting and switch

The light has power and is on, with and without a switch wired to it. When I install a single pole switch it doesn't affect the light at all, very confused. Thank you for any help
 
  #2  
Old 11-16-16, 02:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,746
Received 4,116 Upvotes on 3,696 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You haven't given us very much information to go on.

Is there a box in the wall for the switch to be put in ?
Was there a switch at one time that worked ?
What kind of light.... plug-in or permanent ceiling mount ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-16, 05:37 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry. This is new work I installed I have 3 outlets in a row then a closet light from the light I have a 12/2 into a new box. The closet light is a brand new led 2' strip and it is a ceiling mount. If the breaker is on the light is on, wiring it to a switch has not changed that. The single pole switch is also brand new but I have changed it to make sure the switch was not the issue. The problem is I can't figure out how to turn the light off without having to turn off the breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-16, 06:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
then a closet light from the light I have a 12/2 into a new box.
Sounds like you have a miswired switch loop.

Name:  Sw_Loopb-pre-2011.jpg
Views: 121
Size:  24.5 KB

Is this how you wired it?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: