How can I fix my mistake with the ceiling fan?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-26-16, 02:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How can I fix my mistake with the ceiling fan?

Using instructions on the internet, I tried to replace a 3 speed ceiling fan switch. To do this, I had to write down the colors of the 4 wires and their location (l, 1, 2,3). At my first attempt, it was turning at only 1 speed. I opened the cover and saw that 1 of the 4 wires was removed, I put it back successfully and everything worked fine at 3 different speed.
I was happy and then remembered that a few years ago, in my parent's apartment, the repairman fixed the same thing and at the end, he told me something like "sorry, I bought a 2 speed switch instead of 3, is it OK?", I replied yes. But after having replaced the switch myself, I thought that maybe he lied and the real reason was that 1 wire was disconnected.
I went to my parent's apartment, I first disconnected 2 black and white wires, then I could access the switch. I was looking for the 4 holes where the wires go, I saw wires in 3 holes but not on the 4th, I thought that was it because I noticed a black and white wire not connected. At this time, unfortunately, I completely forgot that they were the wires that I disconnected earlier (they probably power the light down). I then connected both wires but now, the fan doesn't turn at all! I noticed that I made a mistake. I also noticed that this switch is more completed than the one in my apartment because the holes with wires are on 2 levels.
What should I do to fix my mistake?
Attached are pictures of this Hunter fan.Name:  IMG_20161125_102918.jpg
Views: 2743
Size:  26.0 KBName:  IMG_20161125_102843.jpg
Views: 2564
Size:  25.4 KBName:  IMG_20161125_102830.jpg
Views: 2904
Size:  22.1 KBName:  IMG_20161125_102816.jpg
Views: 2488
Size:  34.2 KBName:  IMG_20161125_102810.jpg
Views: 2386
Size:  43.1 KBName:  IMG_20161125_102204.jpg
Views: 2367
Size:  23.7 KBName:  IMG_20161125_102147.jpg
Views: 2995
Size:  21.8 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-16, 03:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,646
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
If you didn't take a picture of the wiring or write it down...... you're in trouble.
There are no published wiring diagrams or schematics for the pull chain wiring.

FYI.... there are dozens of pull chain switches. They ARE NOT interchangeable. When replacing a switch you MUST get the number off the old one and match it.
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-16, 05:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1. Is it possible the pull chain in the off position?
2. Is it possible the reverse switch is in the center, not forward or reverse?
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-16, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't change the configuration of the wires, it's just that I placed the 2 light wires in the switch, and maybe it broke the switch?
I don't think the pull chain is in the off position because I pulled it several times.
I don't think the reverse switch is in the center because I don't remember moving it, but maybe I forgot so I'll check it soon.
 
  #5  
Old 11-27-16, 08:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's possible one of the wires came loose.
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-16, 11:58 AM
Trying2Help's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 715
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  3-speed-fan-switch-wiring-diagram-l-2eecf59483ec0e02.jpeg
Views: 16777
Size:  30.1 KB

See if this will give you a hint on where it all went wrong....
 
  #7  
Old 11-28-16, 07:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The switch is SANTA E70469. I want to pull out the wires from the switch and put them back according to the wiring diagram. It is very hard to pump them out and if I cut them, I leave wire inside. What should I do? Pull them harder?
 
  #8  
Old 11-28-16, 10:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I finally used a nail to remove the wires and to put them in their new position, it is very convenient. I followed the wiring diagram you gave me and now, I have only 1 speed
. After I do the fan, I need to pull the chain 3 times to make it it run. The Santa e70469 switch has 8 holes instead of 4, I don't know why. From my search on the internet, it is still a 3 speed switch, so the repairman who installed it did not tell me the truth. What should I do now to have my 3 speed? Buy a new switch? If yes, which one?
 
  #9  
Old 11-28-16, 04:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I only made sure that the 4 wires connected to the switch were the same as the diagram, I didn't verified the other parts of the diagram.
 
  #10  
Old 11-30-16, 11:39 AM
Trying2Help's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 715
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Colors of wires aren't the only thing you need to verify. Don't know what the last person did, so you may need to check everything, to ensure it is wired correctly.

However, you might try swapping the two wires, for the speed you do have working and see if that corrects you issue.

You have one source, the switch just redirects the route it takes to get to the motor. Different route for each speed. Sounds like you may have the source connected to the wrong pin of the switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: