Help installing new vanity light.


  #1  
Old 12-02-16, 02:19 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Help installing new vanity light.

Hello - I am replacing a fluorescent light fixture in a warehouse restroom. I removed the old light and only found 2 bare copper wires and 1 red wire coming out of the junction box. The 2 bare wires were tied into the neutral wire of the old light fixture and the red was tied to the hot wire (first picture). I do not see a neutral wire coming out of the box. Is it safe to connect the new light the same way I found this one and tie the 2 copper wires back to the neutral? It seems like that wouldn't be a good idea, but the old light was working (replacing only for cosmetics).

Note - The copper wires are dirty and appear to be black in one of the pictures.

Thanks in advance.
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 12-02-16, 02:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
No not safe to use bare wires as a neutral. If you are sure there are no white (or gray) wires you will need to run new wires. Is this conduit?
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-16, 02:55 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 135
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
What's the wire behind the red one? It looks yellow.
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-16, 03:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,636
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
The yellow may be neutral. Is anything connected to it ?

Name:  IMG_0574.JPG.jpg
Views: 193
Size:  28.4 KB
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-16, 07:49 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yellow wire

The yellow wire runs in and out of the box, it was not used for this light but I'm not sure where it is running.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 12-05-16, 11:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,636
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
You're going to have to trace the circuit. Find where the wires come from and go to.
A bare wire for neutral in a conduit is absolutely wrong.

You need to locate the neutral so that it can be run to that box.
I shudder to think how the rest of the place is wired.
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-16, 05:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The bare being used as a neutral is creating a serious shock hazard.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: