Installing Hampton Bay lights into fan


  #1  
Old 12-26-16, 02:55 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing Hampton Bay lights into fan

just moved in ...trying to put a light kit on a hampton bay ceiling fan, with their own universal kit...all of it hooks up just like the directions state , but No Lights ?!?

the fan(s) i tried 2 ...are likely 8 - 10 yrs old ...
is there a necessary wiring procedure at the " switch" i am unaware of ...the one fan that does have a light that does work is the same switch as the other 2 ...

i did put my cheapo continuity meter on the " carriage " that connects the cover to the circuitry inside the fan ... black and red are o k ... and one other ...but , the blue, which is to connect to the new light assembly black wire, does not activate the meter ...so ?
same thing on the 2 fans i referred to ...
could they just be old ?
...the switch ?

thanx
 
  #2  
Old 12-26-16, 03:28 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,463
Received 128 Upvotes on 113 Posts
Did you remove the trim ring at the top of the fan and connect the blue wire marked "fan" to the black incoming power and also connected to the black wire from the fan?
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-16, 03:49 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
The blue wire would be marked "light", and it could not be connected at the switch. Have you pulled the switch from the box to see what the wiring was there? If you have only one cable from the switch, then the black and blue of the fan will be connected to the hot wire from the switch.
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-16, 05:20 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ok , so 1st...when i referred to "switch" it was the wall switch..an old toggle ...as the others i viewed it was a 2 way w/ a black, red, and ground...the fan that did have an operating light, had the same configuration....i have not removed the "switch" entirely from the wall, just viewed from opening the cover plate , after that i figure it's the pro's job ?!?
the "trim ring" is not one i was at all familiar with, and will look at that now

is that standard ? meaning...having an additional step like that to get a light to work ? i would think the directions to the light kit would reference that ???

thanx both of you ... i'll let you know
 
  #5  
Old 12-27-16, 05:51 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
making a bit more sense

so ...i have the cover (trim cover, plate ) off and the black and red are wired together ...the blue is sitting solo ..

makes sense to my limited experience ...

i can just wire the blue to the red / black wire nut ?
 
  #6  
Old 12-27-16, 06:09 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
i viewed it was a 2 way w/ a black, red, and ground
No such thing as a 2-way. How many screws on the switch not counting ground. Please post a picture of the switch and the wires connected to it? http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #7  
Old 12-27-16, 06:37 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ooops

sorry , i mistook the " 2 w " on the sku i can see to mean 2 way ....

2 screws .... can't post a pic ...camera on the blink

but, i do have the idle blue wire
referred to in previous post
can that be connected to the existing
red and black
and complete the connection ?
 
  #8  
Old 12-27-16, 08:11 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
If power comes in at the switch to avoid confusion best practice is to not use the red. Just cap it on both ends with a wire nut. At the fan connect both fan black and fan blue to house black.

If power comes in at the switch you could also install a duplex switch so you would have separate switches for fan and light. In that case red is used for the light.

If power comes in at the fan then there are other possible combination you can consider.
 
  #9  
Old 12-27-16, 08:41 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
cont'd

my apologies ... i realize this is all pretty basic stuff
for the guys , you , helping us out ...

the red ( coming from the ceiling )
and
the black (coming from the fan )

which are currently connected ....

can the idle blue ( from the fan) be connected
to that wire nut ?
and
give me the power supply for the light kit ?
 
  #10  
Old 12-27-16, 08:45 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
to clarify

there is no BLACK coming out of the ceiling ...?!?
just RED , WHITE and GREEN
 
  #11  
Old 12-27-16, 09:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,993 Upvotes on 3,584 Posts
Yes..... you can connect the black from the fan and the blue from the light to the red wire.
Now... the fan and light will both come on with the wall switch.
 
  #12  
Old 12-27-16, 09:40 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
there is no BLACK coming out of the ceiling ...?!?
just RED , WHITE and GREEN
So do you have conduit not cable. If so be so be sure to remind us next time. It can change how we answer. Normally our answers are based on cable. Mine was.
 
  #13  
Old 12-27-16, 10:14 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sorry guys

thought it was obvious from the posts that you were dealing w / a minimally knowledgeable individual

now i have to look up difference between conduit and cable

but , the last wiring instruction worked and all's working fine
and
no smoke

thank you
 
  #14  
Old 12-27-16, 10:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,993 Upvotes on 3,584 Posts
Conduit is a hollow metal tube. Most common size is 1/2" in a house.
The wires are run individually inside the conduit allowing for some different color configurations.

With cable...
There is two wire with ground. That's black, white and bare ground.
Then there is three wire with ground. That's black, red, white and bare ground.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: