Installing a Lutron Maestro sensor in an old house - switched loop


  #1  
Old 12-28-16, 12:30 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing a Lutron Maestro sensor in an old house - switched loop

Hi everybody,

I am trying to install this product in my kitchen for my ceiling light. Upon removing the switch, I saw 2 wires only; black and white.

I attached the green wire from the Lutron to the white wire from the wall (I read that this product, although it says that a ground is required, can work without a ground if you connect the green to the neutral). I attached the two black wires from the Lutron to the black wire from the wall. Both of the connections are attached with twist caps.

I went to turn on the power in the breaker and the lights will not turn on. However, I can hear "clicks" in the sensor so I guess that is working?

I've also learned that I may have a switched loop - in this case, is it not possible to use this Lutron?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 12-28-16, 01:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The white wire by code should have been remarked black* to indicate it is a hot not a neutral. So basically the two black house wires go to the two black switch wires. The green wire is connected to the switch box if the switch box is grounded other wise the green wire is just capped and not used.

If the house is wired with BX the metal box may be grounded to some extent. If you have NM cable it isn't.

*The white could also have been marked or recolored red or any color but gray or green.
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-16, 01:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,993 Upvotes on 3,584 Posts
There are different versions of the Maestro. Also they are "type of light" dependent.

What model did you use ?
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-16, 02:00 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Model # is: MS-OPS2H-WH.

The lights are a 5 led spotlight from Ikea.

Thanks for your help everybody.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-16, 02:53 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ray, I will have to wait to tomorrow to try what you suggested.

Will the Lutron work if it doesn't have the trickle power from the neutral? (which I don't have in this case).
 
  #6  
Old 12-28-16, 05:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,993 Upvotes on 3,584 Posts
The trickle power would be from the ground. There is no neutral present there.

According to Lutron.... NOTE: Device will not function if it is not grounded.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: