Help hanging a chandelier


  #1  
Old 02-11-17, 10:27 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help hanging a chandelier

Hello-

My problem is that I took down the old light over a year ago. I forgot to mark down which breaker this light is on.

How do I figure this out? I have some kind of meter that belonged to my brother but I have no idea how to use it. Can somebody pleas tell me if I can use this thing, and how to use it, to check if the wires coming out of the ceiling are hot? I am including images of wires, meter, and wires coming out of the new chandelier.

Thanks!
 
Attached Images    
  #2  
Old 02-11-17, 10:34 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,710
Received 4,106 Upvotes on 3,687 Posts
You will use the red section labeled AC. I believe I have 250VAC circled.

Name:  Lpicture 2.jpg
Views: 332
Size:  38.8 KB

Touch either probe to white and the other probe to black.
The needle will go half way up for 120VAC.

The ground connects to the short bare ground wire in the box.
The side of that black wire that has ridges is the white/neutral side.
The smooth side is the hot/black side.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-17, 10:40 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,251
Received 1,960 Upvotes on 1,757 Posts
Testing it assumes your tester has batteries that work. Turn it to 10 A.C. V. and touch each wire. But if the wall switch is off you wont have power. Switch has to be on to test for power.

You could also wire up a temporary pigtail light socket with a bulb and wire it up. Make sure it has power and make sure switch works. Turn the switch off, then wire your light.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-17, 10:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,710
Received 4,106 Upvotes on 3,687 Posts
@ X ................ 10 A.C. V ?

You have a center hole canopy. You'll need a fixture bar that connects to that box.
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-17, 10:53 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJmax for the reply. I watched so many youtube videos and got nowhere. Yes, that is 250 that you circled so I will set it to that.

"The ground connects to the short bare ground wire in the box.
The side of that black wire that has ridges is the white/neutral side.
The smooth side is the hot/black side."

This part above you are referring to the wires coming out of the chandelier- correct? I attach the skinny copper wire to the stubby bare wire coming out of the ceiling.- I think it's been painted white-

I think I see what you mean about the ridges. I thought they were both the same but I can feel ridges on one.

Thanks very much for your help!
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-17, 10:57 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I put in a new battery this morning XSleeper- thanks!

I will check the bar in the attic Pjmax. Thanks guys!
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-17, 11:09 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,251
Received 1,960 Upvotes on 1,757 Posts
120V... can't read the fine print on my phone.
 
  #8  
Old 02-11-17, 11:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,710
Received 4,106 Upvotes on 3,687 Posts
The fixture bar attaches to the box and is used to attach the light to.

Name:  fix bar.jpg
Views: 206
Size:  29.5 KB
 
  #9  
Old 02-11-17, 11:59 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
No battery needed in an analog meter to read voltage. Battery is only for resistance. To test a meter's voltage function insert probes into a known good receptacle.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-11-17 at 02:01 PM.
  #10  
Old 02-11-17, 01:45 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's me again. I looked at my lamp again and found the bar you are talking about Pjmax- also 2 screws included.

Thanks to your help with the meter, I now know what breaker to switch off. The only concerns I have now are the following:

The old fixture used those little flame shaped bulbs- six of them I think. The kind where the sockets are smaller. This fixture holds 5 standard size bulbs. Will this be a problem?

Also, this fixture probably weighs more than the old one. I looked at the bar in the attic that the box is attached to. It looks like prongs on either end were hammered into the 2 beams. I didn't see any screws. Should I replace this with a new bar? I can weigh the lamp and buy one sturdy enough. I can take pictures if that helps.

I would appreciate any help with this. I will probably work on this some more next weekend.

Thanks!
 
  #11  
Old 02-11-17, 01:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,710
Received 4,106 Upvotes on 3,687 Posts
The new fixture may use slightly more power but I don't see any issue there.

Those old bar boxes could take a good amount of weight. A rule of thumb is not to exceed 35 pounds of static weight.

If there is a place to put screws into the hanger bars.... do it.
Usually they were held to the joists with a nail or two. Sometimes even a staple or two.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: