Lamp wiring: can I do this?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-06-17, 01:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lamp wiring: can I do this?

Howdy, y'all.
I'm a bit of a Jack of no trades and could use some advice.
I would like to attach two 3.5 watt LED table lamps that I'm modifying to one cord in order to cut down on wires inside of a light box I'm building for an aquarium. I'm not looking to simply plug them into an extension cord (space), but splice them into an extension cord i would cut and use for the plug of both.
Is there a SAFE way for this to be achieved?
Thanks for any and all advice/warnings/suggestions etc.

Cheers!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-06-17, 02:07 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums! I may not have exactly what you are describing in mind, but some safe things to keep in mind. Any junction of wires must be in an enclosed and covered junction box with proper strain reliefs to keep from pulling on the cables. I don't know how you plan on using table lamps with an aquarium. You may need to expound on this a little. If you have pictures of the enclosure you plan on using you can post them. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-17, 02:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey, Chandler. Thanks for the response. Sorry about the vague post. I'll try again with pics. Here goes...
The lamps I'm using aren't table lamps per se. They're clip ons.Name:  20170306_141130.jpg
Views: 196
Size:  21.8 KB
I plan on removing the clips and running them through this box that I would drill holes in Name:  20170306_141002.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  17.4 KB.
I want to cut the plugs off both lamps and slice them into another cord, probably an extension cord, do that they will fit inside hereName:  20170306_141030.jpg
Views: 237
Size:  28.1 KB
This panel runs behind the aquarium.
Possible?
Thanks for the help!
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-17, 03:02 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Splicing the wires is the simple part. Placing them in a secured covered box is another thing. What covers this panel that is in the last photo? I am assuming this is where all your wiring will come together. Where would the individual cables enter? How are you going to support the lamps without the clips?

Would it be just as easy buying low voltage puck lighting to perform the same task. Just grabbing for straws here.
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-17, 03:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The back panel is covered by the box in the second picture.
Which is obviously removable. The lights would be secured inside rubber grommets installed in either the front or sides of box. I would retain about 3"_4" of the flexible casing in order to position the lights.
 
  #6  
Old 03-07-17, 05:21 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,982
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
I have that same aquarium, what are you planning on using the lights for?there is a nice LED setup for that tank.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-17, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey, Geo!
Congrats on having a cool tank. Bummer that the lighting sucks so bad.
I've looked at the 42 LED upgrade lamp Fluval has for the 12 gallon. (I have the 6 gallon, 24 Led). However it still focuses light mainly on the rear of the tank. I'm planning on growing Glossostigma e. And need some light focused on the front of the tank.
Besides... at $40ish plus shipping, I feel as if I can do the job, in theory, for a 1/4 of that.
Thanks for the reply!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: