Convert half of switched outlet to "always on"

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-17, 11:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Convert half of switched outlet to "always on"

Both outlets receptacles in this outlet are switched. I'd like to make one "always on" and leave the other switched. From what I've read it should be fairly easy, but I'm not 100% sure. I've included a few pictures of the wiring.
 
Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-17, 11:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,537
Received 330 Votes on 308 Posts
You are showing us a receptacle at the end of the line. There is only a single two wire cable feeding it which means that cable can only be switched or always live.

Leaving that cable in place you may be able to switch both receptacles but you'd need to know where that cable connects. If it comes from an existing live receptacle your options are extremely narrow.

Are there other switched receptacles ?
Will the switch for this receptacle be new and will it be close ?
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-17, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJ, the line connects to a single pole switch about 10 feet away. No real convenient way to run new wire...
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-17, 11:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,537
Received 330 Votes on 308 Posts
What does that switch currently control ?

Are you saying that receptacle IS tied in at the switch ?
If yes.... give us a picture of the switch wiring.

You may able to make it fully switched.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-17, 12:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The outlet I supplied pictures of is currently a switched outlet. The switch you'd like pictures of is what controls the outlet.

As soon as I can free up I'll get a picture of the switch wiring. I just replaced the switch itself with a newer paddle style and the wiring was: black, white and ground I'm pretty sure.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: