Convert half of switched outlet to "always on"


  #1  
Old 04-21-17, 12:24 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Convert half of switched outlet to "always on"

Both outlets receptacles in this outlet are switched. I'd like to make one "always on" and leave the other switched. From what I've read it should be fairly easy, but I'm not 100% sure. I've included a few pictures of the wiring.
 
Attached Images    
  #2  
Old 04-21-17, 12:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,620
Received 3,887 Upvotes on 3,484 Posts
You are showing us a receptacle at the end of the line. There is only a single two wire cable feeding it which means that cable can only be switched or always live.

Leaving that cable in place you may be able to switch both receptacles but you'd need to know where that cable connects. If it comes from an existing live receptacle your options are extremely narrow.

Are there other switched receptacles ?
Will the switch for this receptacle be new and will it be close ?
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-17, 12:32 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJ, the line connects to a single pole switch about 10 feet away. No real convenient way to run new wire...
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-17, 12:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,620
Received 3,887 Upvotes on 3,484 Posts
What does that switch currently control ?

Are you saying that receptacle IS tied in at the switch ?
If yes.... give us a picture of the switch wiring.

You may able to make it fully switched.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-17, 01:17 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The outlet I supplied pictures of is currently a switched outlet. The switch you'd like pictures of is what controls the outlet.

As soon as I can free up I'll get a picture of the switch wiring. I just replaced the switch itself with a newer paddle style and the wiring was: black, white and ground I'm pretty sure.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: