Need help with wiring to install new track light

Old 05-13-17, 07:54 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Need help with wiring to install new track light

Hello everyone,

House is from the 40's, has what I believe is called cloth wiring. I have a tongue and groove exposed ceiling and I want to install a track light on one of the exposed wood beams in order to get some light in my living room.

I am trying to get power from a nearby light switch box. So for testing purposes (since I am no electrician) I decided to connect the cables coming from the panel hot and neutral using a romex 12-2 and connecting the other end to the hot neutral of the track light. When I turn on the breaker there is no light. Again, there's no switch, straight power from panel to track light. To ensure that the track light is not damaged, I took a working ceiling light fixture from the hallway and connected it the same way - no light. So now I know it's not the track light but I am stumped as to why there seems to be no power getting to the light fixture. My non-electrical experience tells me that this simple connection should work.

I know there's power from the panel since the cable coming from the panel was originally pig tailed to another set of black/white cables (which you can see on the wall switch pic below that have been moved up and out of the way) that power the outlet on the Florida room next door. Eventually I will have the track light, the switch for the track light and a pig tail for continuous power to the Florida room.

Here's the connection on the wall switch - black to black and white to white.
Name:  wall connection (Small).jpg
Views: 751
Size:  20.8 KB

Here's the connection on the track light - black to black and white to white.
Name:  track connection (Small).jpg
Views: 1529
Size:  24.4 KB

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for the help

Old 05-13-17, 08:07 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts