No power to switch and multiple lights not working


  #1  
Old 07-16-17, 12:31 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No power to switch and multiple lights not working

I was installing a new fan control switch and dimmer. Everything was working fine prior to replacement. I got the dimmer to work and I can see power coming in but I can't get the fan control switch to work and several lights and switches on same line seem to be out now too. Seemed to be everything after fan control switch. I don't see any power coming to it based on voltage tester. Are there any quick fixes or checks that I could do or if is time to call an electrician? I hope that I didn't break anything. Switches fit snugly and I had to push them in initially. Thank you in advance for your help.
 
  #2  
Old 07-16-17, 12:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,832
Received 3,747 Upvotes on 3,360 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Apparently the power enters and leaves that box you worked in.
Did you ID or take pictures of your wiring before disconnecting anything ?

You should have 1) three wire cable and at least 2) two wire cables.

Without seeing what you have there it's pretty hard to offer any solid help.
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-17, 12:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I disconnected the wires one by one and attached them as I disconnected them. I've attached a picture. The first switch on bottom in picture works. The second on top doesn't. It looks like power isn't coming in on black wire that is supposed to feed electricity to switch. It is the bottom black wire of switch. I've tested both with voltage tester in case they were flipped on original switch but neither is carrying any electricity.

Name:  20170716_134634.jpg
Views: 227
Size:  26.5 KB

Name:  large.jpg
Views: 204
Size:  35.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-16-17 at 01:22 PM. Reason: removed extra pics, added enlarged one
  #4  
Old 07-16-17, 01:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,832
Received 3,747 Upvotes on 3,360 Posts
It looks like there is a single two wire cable and a single three wire cable.
Is that correct ?

That doesn't allow for power to come into that box and go on to another one.
The two wire cable should be power in and the three wire cable should go to the fan.
That would mean the black from the two wire cable goes to both switches.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: